Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 600 Class Electric Helicopters


600 Class Electric Helicopters 600 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2015, 03:48 PM   #1
RC/DC_5000
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: San Diego
Default RX Pack Wiring Question

I'm going to power the Align 815 BL servos with a direct lipo 2s pack. So I understand the two leads go into the GPRO on the two ports.

I'm looking at this RX battery and see that they included the two wires from the get go. But how are you supposed to then power up/down the FBL and servos?

They expect you to unplug both those leads every time you fly? I know I can make an adapter from an EC3 to spit into the two servo leads and control the power with that. But what was Turnigy thinking I'd do when they made the two leads from the start?

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...arehouse_.html
RC/DC_5000 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 05:24 PM   #2
pril250
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,795
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London, Uk
Default

You can wire it permanently via an on/off switch.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...f_Switch_.html

__________________
T-Rex600-ICE100,WR10ABEC,Scorp4025-1100+17T,Kasama head,QUK Swash CNC Tail,G-Force blocks,3152,DS760+BLS251,DX7+AR7000,FM.
Blade400
-CC ICE50,Scorp2221-8+12T,Sonix Head&Tail,5A BEC,HS65HB,Quark+3500G,AR7000,Align Carbon blades,TRex500 Skids,Flymentor.
pril250 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 08:15 PM   #3
RC/DC_5000
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: San Diego
Default

Hmm... Yea I guess that's what Turnigy was thinking. Like I'm going to unplug those two tiny little leads from my Gpro every flight.
RC/DC_5000 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 10:52 AM   #4
Grumpy_Old_Man
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Aberdeen, UK
Default

That battery doesnt have two JR servo type plugs, it has a single JR and the other is a two pin JST, which is a totally different type of connector.

I'd not recomeend a switch because they arent rated for the current high performance heli servos can pull. The simple, easy, cheap and foolproof solution is just make up a wiring harness that consists of a battery connector at one end (Deans / XT60 or whatever) and soldered onto that connector two heavy duty servo extension leads with JR servo plugs.

To isolate the battery you just pull the battery connector out, like you would any other LiPo. The two JR servo plugs dont get touched.
__________________
Goblin 630 Comp HKIII 4035 560Kv, Castle 120HV, Align servos. Trex 600Pro - Scorp HK4035-530kv, YGE 90HV, Lynx blocks, 623 stretch.Kasama Dune 600 Pyro 700-52, RJX HV servos, YEP 80HV Compass 7HV U - SZ4926, RJX HV servos, YGE160HV
Grumpy_Old_Man is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 11:06 AM   #5
RC/DC_5000
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: San Diego
Default

Ahhh.. Thanks. That cleared that up. I agree the switch doesn't appeal to me. I see I misunderstood what Turnigy had in mind.

I'll start with my own 2s lipo and make the EC3 go into two servo leads to go into the GPro.

Thanks for pointing out the lead differences on that battery.
RC/DC_5000 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 11:16 AM   #6
pril250
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,795
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London, Uk
Default

I am using a Hercules 10A Linear BEC with a switch on a 7.4V LIPO for 6V electronics. The switch is all nice but if I don't disconnect the pack the BEC will eventually drains the battery anyway as the switch seems to be on the output..
__________________
T-Rex600-ICE100,WR10ABEC,Scorp4025-1100+17T,Kasama head,QUK Swash CNC Tail,G-Force blocks,3152,DS760+BLS251,DX7+AR7000,FM.
Blade400
-CC ICE50,Scorp2221-8+12T,Sonix Head&Tail,5A BEC,HS65HB,Quark+3500G,AR7000,Align Carbon blades,TRex500 Skids,Flymentor.
pril250 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2015, 03:39 PM   #7
ticedoff8
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,035
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NorCali (San Jose)
Default

If you are going with a dedicated flight pack battery, then I would highly recommend looking at the Scott Gray Reactor HVX.
Has a remote on/off "fail on" power switch, dual programmable output regulators and will use 2S to 4S LiPo input.

Personally, I use this on my nitro 700N.

On my 600E, I use the Castle Creations BEC Pro 20 connected to the flight pack.
I used the Reactor X2 with the 2S liPo on this heli for awhile. But, it ended up a lot lighter without the 2S LiPo.
ticedoff8 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2015, 04:26 PM   #8
Skidpad
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,436
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: US (North Carolina/Winston-Salem)
Default

Here's what I use: http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...odID=SPMYHEC36

In your case, I would remove the red jst connector from the battery and install an ec3 (or whatever) as stated above.

Also, a 3000ma pack is quite large for a receiver pack; what heli are you putting it in?
__________________
180CFX, Trex 550E/night; Goblin 630C, DX8
Skidpad is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2015, 10:39 PM   #9
RC/DC_5000
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: San Diego
Default

Thanks for the link. That harness looks nice.

The 3.0 pack was just an example. The plugs are what I was confused about :-)
RC/DC_5000 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 10:47 PM   #10
xrayray
Registered Users
 
Posts: 579
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Vista/Oceanside, CA
Default

I *just* finished doing this as well right before I saw this thread.

A little different because I ran 2 heavy duty JR servo leads from an EC3 with one orange signal wire connected to my ESC signal wire (not using built in BEC) and then both of the heavy duty leads plugged in to my RX. One lead goes to the bind channel and the other one that has the ESC signal goes to throttle channel. My RX doesn't have aux2. So I hope it helps those who only have a 6 ch RX you can still have dual power input.
__________________
Team FlybarLESS
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Trex 550e DFC
Trex 450 pro DFC
xrayray is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 600 Class Electric Helicopters


600 Class Electric Helicopters 600 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com