Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Align 3G FBL System


Align 3G FBL System Align 3G FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2010, 01:05 PM   #1
Leon Luke
Registered Users
 
Posts: 507
 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Default Modifying 3G for better performance

Hi,

I have been testing a mod to the 3G, that will help some of those that are having issues with the system. I've been flying it for a while now to test and confirm my findings before making any comments. I have forwarded my findings to Assurance and Taiwan. Not everyone is having issues or concerns as evidenced by so many of the factory pilots, and local pilots I speak to are not having any issues. I was not having any issues, but wanted to go the extra step to make things even better, continual developement. I find that most of the issues are vibration induced as the sensors are very sensitive.

If you want to try this mod, do it at your own risk, as it may void any warranty, I don't know.

The mod involves taking the sensor appart by the 4 screws on the bottom. Lift the top off of the base and carefully remove the the sensors from the top of case. Use some silicone, I used high temp silicone, as it was the only kind I have, I have just been told to use electronics silicone as it is non corrosive, and apply a gob to secure all 3 sensor units to each other. Do not put too much on. You do not want the glue to touch too much of the sensor case, this way the case transmits less vibration to the sensors. I did not put any silicone between the bottom of the rudder sensor and the square plastic base of case.

You should find that the heli is much less "nervous", less tail artifacts, you will be able to turn all your gains up,

Your heli will be much more solid.

You must minimize vibrations, and use FBL blades.

You will note from my settings below, the gains are about 100% now, and rudder is at 85-90%









Leon Luke
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Team Avant RC, Team JR, Team KDE, Team Cool Power Fuel, Team YS Engines, Team Hatori, Team Radix, Scott Gray Products, A Main Hobbies,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


XFC 2006/7/8/11

Last edited by Leon Luke; 10-12-2010 at 12:49 AM.. Reason: added video
Leon Luke is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 07:59 PM   #2
jondabear
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Antonio tx.
Default

No faster said than done.
jondabear is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 08:17 PM   #3
mikejr718
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Omaha, NE
Default

Can we see pictures of a modified sensor to understand better?
mikejr718 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 09:42 PM   #4
Leon Luke
Registered Users
 
Posts: 507
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Default

I should know better, but I did not take pictures, sorry. I have it on 5 machines.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Team Avant RC, Team JR, Team KDE, Team Cool Power Fuel, Team YS Engines, Team Hatori, Team Radix, Scott Gray Products, A Main Hobbies,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


XFC 2006/7/8/11
Leon Luke is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 09:59 PM   #5
mikejr718
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Omaha, NE
Default

I have seen pics of the inside of the 3g sensor from another thread. I have tried to attach a copy of the pic. Thanks to tgilton for the original pic. I have outlined an area that I believe you are referring to. [IMG]file:///C:/Users/Owner/Desktop/3G_PINS2.jpg[/IMG][IMG]file:///C:/Users/Owner/Desktop/3G_PINS2.jpg[/IMG]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3G_PINS2.jpg
Views:	6912
Size:	62.7 KB
ID:	184504  
mikejr718 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 10:09 PM   #6
Leon Luke
Registered Users
 
Posts: 507
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejr718 View Post
I have seen pics of the inside of the 3g sensor from another thread. I have tried to attach a copy of the pic. Thanks to tgilton for the original pic. I have outlined an area that I believe you are referring to. [IMG]file:///C:/Users/Owner/Desktop/3G_PINS2.jpg[/IMG][IMG]file:///C:/Users/Owner/Desktop/3G_PINS2.jpg[/IMG]
I put a glob of silicone, and shaped it like a cube to touch all 3 sensors, the dimensions of this cube of silicone was a little larger than the dimensions of the actual sensors on the 3 boards. The glue encapsulated the sensors and parts of the boards. I just made sure that I did not put so much that the glue would squeeze out when I put the top of the case on. I am sure the glue contacted the 2 locating tabs on the top of the case.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Team Avant RC, Team JR, Team KDE, Team Cool Power Fuel, Team YS Engines, Team Hatori, Team Radix, Scott Gray Products, A Main Hobbies,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


XFC 2006/7/8/11
Leon Luke is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 10:14 PM   #7
mikejr718
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Omaha, NE
Default

I am going to try this tomorrow. I have Hondabond hi temp silicone sealer and also some shoo goo. Would either of these be ok?
mikejr718 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 12:04 AM   #8
Vinger
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,540
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Default

Silicone sealants/glue normally produce an accidic reaction and are corrosive to the electronic tracks and copper components. Better to use some specialised silicon glue that are made for electronic use.

http://www.mgchemicals.com/products/...ronic_app.html
Quote:
TSE399-C Clear, one part, neutral cure, non-corrosive, flowable, RTV silicone sealant for electronics applications with primerless adhesion to most metals and plastics.
http://www.dowcorning.com/content/et.../etronicsseal/
__________________
Trex 500, Henseleit TDR, Banshee
Kontronik ESC, Hyperion Chargers, VBar, JR XG11
Old hand at Planks
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Vinger is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 12:34 AM   #9
Leon Luke
Registered Users
 
Posts: 507
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Default 3G

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinger View Post
Silicone sealants/glue normally produce an accidic reaction and are corrosive to the electronic tracks and copper components. Better to use some specialised silicon glue that are made for electronic use.

http://www.mgchemicals.com/products/...ronic_app.html


http://www.dowcorning.com/content/et.../etronicsseal/
Good to know.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Team Avant RC, Team JR, Team KDE, Team Cool Power Fuel, Team YS Engines, Team Hatori, Team Radix, Scott Gray Products, A Main Hobbies,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


XFC 2006/7/8/11
Leon Luke is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 02:05 AM   #10
jondabear
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Antonio tx.
Default

I completely forgot all about that. Wow....now there's a blast from the past. Noncorrosive rtv's for base level board work and adhesion. Haven't had to use that in a very long time.

I DO concur though. Noncorrosive would be preferable. Not a must. As the actual corrosive effects would probably show themselves AFTER this tech is obsolete but, I rather have pice of mind. To ELECTROTEX I go! Peace!
jondabear is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 08:54 AM   #11
Wizzard
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,609
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Default

Not sure about the cover from your 3G unit Leon but mine had 2 little tabs inside that had to be removed in order to allow the silicone to connect all 3 sensors together. The tabs appeared that they are/were some kind of support for the 2 upright sensors?
__________________
HF Member 69508

Wizzard is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 09:31 AM   #12
Leon Luke
Registered Users
 
Posts: 507
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ...
Default

Yes, the tabs were in mine too.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Team Avant RC, Team JR, Team KDE, Team Cool Power Fuel, Team YS Engines, Team Hatori, Team Radix, Scott Gray Products, A Main Hobbies,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


XFC 2006/7/8/11
Leon Luke is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 10:16 AM   #13
uragano47812
Registered Users
 
Posts: 857
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Italy
Default

Hello Leon great work! Can you post also some pics of the software parameters you have used in your 450 flybarless?

i'm asking this because a friend has the 3G on a 450PRO and we want to try your "silicone" mod but we don't know how to fine tune the parameters.

thanks
__________________
SAB Goblin 700 - Vstabi 5.3Pro
TT Raptor E700 - MiniVstabi 5.3Pro
MiniProtos 3s - MiniVstabi 5.3Pro
uragano47812 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 10:46 AM   #14
jockstrap
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,853
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default

What about using hot melt glue? Too hot? Too runny? Too stiff when hard?

Just an idea..as it's non-corrosive..
__________________
DX7 Mode-1 | 450 pro 6s | 450 pro | Schweizer 300C Gasser Scale | T-Rex550e | Aeolus 50 | HeliX T-Rex700 fbl Gasser | HWC600 Gasser | Henseleit MPXLe | Henseleit 3DNT | Suzi-Janis 700 | Gaui NX4 | Gaui X5 | Blade 350QX
jockstrap is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 11:04 AM   #15
ForceFedDSM
Registered Users
 
Posts: 778
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Default

What about shoo goo?
ForceFedDSM is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 12:31 PM   #16
Felt
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,566
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Acworth, GA
Default

I'm getting 90 gain on aileron and 85 gain on elevator on my 600n without this mod. I also set my tail up using 100% 100% on the gain channel and setting my rudder total adjustment to 34% in the software. My 3g is working great. I guess I'm one of the lucky ones.
Felt is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 12:33 PM   #17
Felt
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,566
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Acworth, GA
Default

I also forgot to mention. I am using Edge 603 Flybarless blades.
Felt is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 08:46 PM   #18
mickeyjohnston
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,026
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ontario California
Default

I did this mod last night to my 450. I would say it made some improvement. The tail felt better as well. Zero wag. I also took Leon's advice and turn up my swash return speed to 70 and the heli felt a lot better. It felt more locked in. I was previously running it at 30.

BTW I used shoe goo. It's harder than silicone. Personally I don't see an issue with silicone, in 3 yrs from now, we'll all be running a different system.
mickeyjohnston is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 11:28 PM   #19
tgilton
Registered Users
 
Posts: 289
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Boise, ID
Default

I think this is a dandy idea! It basically increases the mass of each of the three sensors and eliminates some of the vibrational modes by coupling them into a new shape. I don't like the way they cantilever the little boards out there to vibrate like saxophone reeds. I will be doing a version of this tomorrow using sticky clay instead of RTV.
__________________
Compass 6HV (Beastx, JR8717/Futaba BLS251)
Atom 550 (mini-VBar, Savox)
Trex 450 (BeastX, MKS DS92s/DS95i)
Trex 250 (3gx 410/MKS DS95i)
tgilton is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 11:44 PM   #20
akamullen
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,859
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tgilton View Post
I think this is a dandy idea! It basically increases the mass of each of the three sensors and eliminates some of the vibrational modes by coupling them into a new shape. I don't like the way they cantilever the little boards out there to vibrate like saxophone reeds. I will be doing a version of this tomorrow using sticky clay instead of RTV.
Please take pics or video of your mod. I am curious to see how your version goes..
__________________
AnythingHeli.com OWNER/ TEAM PILOT
GAUI X5 / X7 *
GOBLIN 500-x2/630/770 * TREX 450DFC@6S * Swinging GAUI/RJX/RAIL & SAB Blades * Microbeast/IKON * Castle ESC's on all * DX18 *
akamullen is online now        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Align 3G FBL System


Align 3G FBL System Align 3G FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com