Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Kontronik Drives


Kontronik Drives Jazz and Jive ESC's and other Kontronik equipment support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2011, 10:10 AM   #21
DT75
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,036
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oslo, Norway
Default

On mine it was printed v9 on the bar-code sticker, on the box it came in.

Nothing on the esc itself.

Not sure if theres any other way of telling.
__________________
minicopter Diabolo, Henseleit TDR, X50e, X50n, Raptor 50
Futaba 2.4 GHz
DT75 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 08:54 PM   #22
mbrashear
Registered Users
 
Posts: 101
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Default

Thank you. Now, where did I put that box...
mbrashear is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 02:03 AM   #23
dl7uae
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,100
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Am a Kraut.
Default

Find the FW version on bottom of the label (on the JIVE), for example "7K9" means version 9.

If you know somebody with a JLog: The JIVE's fw version appears in the file "JIVEinfo.txt".

Kontronik website, FAQ.

Tom
__________________
Tom (http://J-Log.eu)
dl7uae is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 08:58 PM   #24
mbrashear
Registered Users
 
Posts: 101
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dl7uae View Post
Find the FW version on bottom of the label (on the JIVE), for example "7K9" means version 9.

If you know somebody with a JLog: The JIVE's fw version appears in the file "JIVEinfo.txt".

Kontronik website, FAQ.

Tom
Excellent. I can do that. Thank you.
mbrashear is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 09:41 PM   #25
Freeskiken
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,578
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
Default

Thank you for this information !!! This info and Mr. Mels video on programing have made the whole process way easier. Thanks
Freeskiken is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 11:11 AM   #26
Socal500
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bear Valley Springs, CA
Default

On the mini jazz with the taster button vs jumper am I correct in assuming that once you go full throttle to set a mode and get the confirmation beeps for that mode you just unplug the battery ?
Socal500 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 04:41 PM   #27
desertstalker
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Socal500 View Post
On the mini jazz with the taster button vs jumper am I correct in assuming that once you go full throttle to set a mode and get the confirmation beeps for that mode you just unplug the battery ?
Yep
__________________
-DX8
-MSH MiniProtos Stretched, SK720, DS95/DS95i, Hyp 4S 25C 2500mAh
-MSH Protos Stretched, Brain, Hyp DS16/BLS251, 6S 3000mAh
-Goblin 500, HC3SX, Hyp DH16/MKS980BL, Scorp 4015-1100
desertstalker is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 09:38 AM   #28
Socal500
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bear Valley Springs, CA
Default

Quote:
Be aware that if you have verion 9 of the firmware and you program mode 9 after mode 4 or 11, then your LVC will be set to cut-off power and NOT lower power when lipo reaches LVC. You will need one of the prog cards to set it back to low power option. Or just don't set Lipo mode 9 at all.
Does this apply to all Kontroniks with V9 or just the Jive ?
Socal500 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 05:59 PM   #29
xspare
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,612
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Halifax, NS
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexf1852 View Post
Be aware that if you have verion 9 of the firmware and you program mode 9 after mode 4 or 11, then your LVC will be set to cut-off power and NOT lower power when lipo reaches LVC. You will need one of the prog cards to set it back to low power option. Or just don't set Lipo mode 9 at all.
That statement seems to be contradicted by the manual. Does anybody know if the claim is bogus?

Specifically, the end of the mode 4 discussion (section 7.4) in the manual claims:

Quote:
The following protection functions are active during Heli-mode:

- If there is no Tx signal for longer time, the ESC is switched off.
- At excess temperature, the ESC lowers the power slowly (30 sec.) to zero.

If LiPo-Mode is active, detection of under voltage cut off also lowers powers motor slowly. Without LiPo Mode under voltage disconnection is disabled. Restart is possible after disconnecting and reconnecting the battery.
I can't find any mention of low-voltage behaviour under the mode 11 section of the manual, and this is the mode I would like to use..
__________________

xspare is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 08:03 PM   #30
alexf1852
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,937
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: FL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xspare View Post
That statement seems to be contradicted by the manual. Does anybody know if the claim is bogus?

Specifically, the end of the mode 4 discussion (section 7.4) in the manual claims:



I can't find any mention of low-voltage behaviour under the mode 11 section of the manual, and this is the mode I would like to use..
I posted that because my V9 firmware exhibited that behavior. I had low power set. And when I set it to Lipo mode 9, I checked LVC cut-off mode using the prog card and it had reset the LVC cut-off mode back to power off. That surprised me. I haven't gone back to program my Jives in over 2 years.
__________________
MSH Protos * 2, SAB 500, 630
alexf1852 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 02:44 AM   #31
xspare
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,612
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Halifax, NS
Default

Thanks for the clearing up the background. Sounds like I need to invest in yet another stupid prog card or the disc.
__________________

xspare is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 04:52 PM   #32
-kenny-
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,315
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belgium
Default

Hey guys. complete kontronic and governor newbie here. I just bought a logo 600 with jive 80 esc.
Let's see if i get this right
All i do is program the jive to mode4 and the throttle will automatically work governed? I don't have to do anything else? There's no need to fiddle with governor gain or anything else? So then, whatever throttle curve i set, the jive will see that as the headspeed it needs to hold?

Sorry for all the questions but i want to make sure i get this right first time around and don't mess up this nice/expensive heli.
__________________
Mikado Logo 600 mini Vbar - Outrage fusion50 ar7200bx - goblin 700 mini Vbar - dx7s - powerlab6
-kenny- is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2012, 07:51 PM   #33
desertstalker
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -kenny- View Post
So then, whatever throttle curve i set, the jive will see that as the headspeed it needs to hold?
Yup, spool up at 0 pitch, wait for the RPM to drop (small tail twitch here usually) and fly. RPM will be governed to whatever value was reached during spool up.
__________________
-DX8
-MSH MiniProtos Stretched, SK720, DS95/DS95i, Hyp 4S 25C 2500mAh
-MSH Protos Stretched, Brain, Hyp DS16/BLS251, 6S 3000mAh
-Goblin 500, HC3SX, Hyp DH16/MKS980BL, Scorp 4015-1100
desertstalker is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 10:44 AM   #34
-kenny-
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,315
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belgium
Default

Wow that's real simple i always thought it was way more complicated
__________________
Mikado Logo 600 mini Vbar - Outrage fusion50 ar7200bx - goblin 700 mini Vbar - dx7s - powerlab6
-kenny- is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 11:49 AM   #35
seemore74
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,256
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: london
Default Heli Jive setup Problems

Hi y'all, maybe someone here can tell me where I'm going wrong, I've even sent this esc back to Kontronik & it's cOme back as no fault found so it must be me or my equipment.

I've setup like 8 to 10 different regular jives on various Helis as per Mr Mels procedures & they all worked great. I've now got a helijive that I've put on my Heli taking off a regular jive 80. I've :
1.Reset my Tx end points from 83 (due to previous setup with jive 80) to 100-100, I'm using the futaba 8fg BTW.
2.Set th curve back to linear, reset the helijive to mode 1. Then I replugged jumper ect. & selected mode 5 (because I was on mode 11 on the 80hv & I like that gov mode)
3.Then I lowered my end points to 30-30 as I am now going to calibrate the throttle, the first thing I notice is that the ESC still arms when I power it up, so it's not recognising the low throttle value.

Ok, I read some where on here that the helijive does need to be calibrated that way so I put end points back to 100- 100.

When I plug the batt in with linear curve, stick down & hold on. As soon as I come out of hold with stick in low position, the motor starts to spool up, I hit hold & it stops

I've now tried the very same procedures with the 80HV & that works perfectly, where am I going wrong guys?
__________________
Shape 9.0, Trex 700 DFC pro** MKS Cyclics & Rudder Servos all round. Kontronik Pyro 750 Drives, Kontronik ESCs
Futaba SBus Rx, Futaba 8FG** transmission
.
seemore74 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 12:03 PM   #36
-kenny-
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,315
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belgium
Default

Do you have to program mode 1 first on a brand new jive? I'v plugged it in for the first time today. Just took out the jumper, wait for 4 beeps, full throttle, wait for confirm, throttle down, jumper back, unplug battery, plug battery in and it seems to work perfect.
__________________
Mikado Logo 600 mini Vbar - Outrage fusion50 ar7200bx - goblin 700 mini Vbar - dx7s - powerlab6
-kenny- is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 02:33 PM   #37
ZuvieleTeile
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,775
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Florida - US
Default

Throttle reversed . . .
__________________
Kind Regards ZT - TDR, Logo-400SE
No problem can be solved from the same level of consciousness that created it.(AE)
ZuvieleTeile is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 03:49 PM   #38
seemore74
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,256
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: london
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZuvieleTeile View Post
Throttle reversed . . .
Throttle is supposed to be reversed on Futabas + when I put the 80hv back on it works as it should.
__________________
Shape 9.0, Trex 700 DFC pro** MKS Cyclics & Rudder Servos all round. Kontronik Pyro 750 Drives, Kontronik ESCs
Futaba SBus Rx, Futaba 8FG** transmission
.
seemore74 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 07:38 AM   #39
seemore74
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,256
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: london
Default

Finally got it sorted.
__________________
Shape 9.0, Trex 700 DFC pro** MKS Cyclics & Rudder Servos all round. Kontronik Pyro 750 Drives, Kontronik ESCs
Futaba SBus Rx, Futaba 8FG** transmission
.
seemore74 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 08:52 AM   #40
brewer00psd
Registered Users
 
Posts: 399
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: danville, ohio
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seemore74 View Post
Finally got it sorted.
Care to explain what you figured out?

Us newbs would appreciate it.
Matt


Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2
brewer00psd is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Kontronik Drives


Kontronik Drives Jazz and Jive ESC's and other Kontronik equipment support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com