Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Flight Stabilization


Flight Stabilization Flight Stabilization


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2014, 09:54 AM   #741
HK500Pilot
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Hills Of Pennsylvania
Default

Ivor, what are your thoughts on a field programmer that refuses to connect with the FM? It never goes to the main adjustment screen........when connected it just says connecting on the programmer.

Any help would be appreciated!
HK500Pilot is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 09:55 AM   #742
vespine
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MELBOURNE
Default

hobby king watched the video i posted of my issue and deemed I have a faulty unit, the best part is they are sending me another unit and i don't even have to send the faulty one back! They said i can bin it, now that's great service if you ask me... I'm obviously going to keep the unit for spares as I'm pretty sure it's only the gyro that is faulty..
vespine is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 02:34 PM   #743
HK500Pilot
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Hills Of Pennsylvania
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vespine View Post
hobby king watched the video i posted of my issue and deemed I have a faulty unit, the best part is they are sending me another unit and i don't even have to send the faulty one back! They said i can bin it, now that's great service if you ask me... I'm obviously going to keep the unit for spares as I'm pretty sure it's only the gyro that is faulty..
Wow, that is great service. I haven't had the best of luck with Hobby King. Hopefully you can get things working soon.
HK500Pilot is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 02:36 PM   #744
HK500Pilot
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Hills Of Pennsylvania
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HK500Pilot View Post
Ivor, what are your thoughts on a field programmer that refuses to connect with the FM? It never goes to the main adjustment screen........when connected it just says connecting on the programmer.

Any help would be appreciated!

Still having issues with one of my KDS units. I have the Flymentor on 3 of my helis now but my latest one is still giving me fits.

Any suggestions?
HK500Pilot is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 05:03 PM   #745
Ivor Hill
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plymouth devon UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HK500Pilot View Post
Still having issues with one of my KDS units. I have the Flymentor on 3 of my helis now but my latest one is still giving me fits.

Any suggestions?
Sorry I can't help I have never used a Field programmer.
Ivor Hill is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 09:15 PM   #746
HK500Pilot
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Hills Of Pennsylvania
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivor Hill View Post
Sorry I can't help I have never used a Field programmer.
The FM will not connect to Helibal either.
HK500Pilot is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 07:36 AM   #747
vespine
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MELBOURNE
Default

got my replacement FM today, initialized without any issues There was definitely something wrong with the gyro unit in the 1st one I got, fortunately HK were very good about sending a replacement.

Thank you guys for your assistance. Setting it up as we speak. Can't wait to try it out
vespine is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2014, 02:19 AM   #748
vespine
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MELBOURNE
Default

hi again. i think I got the flymentor set up pretty much right, i have a separate tail gyro and i have aux 2 set up to control the flymentor gain. position 0 is 0% and position 1 is -125% which i believe is about 80 in horizontal mode. horizontal mode seems to be working correctly, ive only tried it in a high hover, nothing extreme yet.

what i can't work out, is there a "recovery mode" where if you let go of the collective the heli will self correct, is this just horizontal mode? it just seemed to me that in horizontal mode, the unit is fighting my inputs, do i have to lower one of the other settings for it to only correct when i let go of the sticks?
vespine is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 11:42 PM   #749
joshuaj
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Malaysia
Default

I have set up Flymentor on my 450QS.
When I spool up, the heli seems to slowly rotate counter clockwise..
It's not the tail servo reverse since I checked that already.
Any ideas?
joshuaj is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 06:12 PM   #750
pril250
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,783
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London, Uk
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vespine View Post
hi again. i think I got the flymentor set up pretty much right, i have a separate tail gyro and i have aux 2 set up to control the flymentor gain. position 0 is 0% and position 1 is -125% which i believe is about 80 in horizontal mode. horizontal mode seems to be working correctly, ive only tried it in a high hover, nothing extreme yet.

what i can't work out, is there a "recovery mode" where if you let go of the collective the heli will self correct, is this just horizontal mode? it just seemed to me that in horizontal mode, the unit is fighting my inputs, do i have to lower one of the other settings for it to only correct when i let go of the sticks?
A heli with FM installed will behave like a coaxial heli, the moment you let go of the stick the heli will more or less cease its momentum as opposed to continuing in the direction of flight. So for instance to keep moving forward you will have to hold the cyclic in the forward direction and the moment you let go the heli will come to more or less a stop with minimal drift.

You have to get use to flying the heli in a slightly different fashion. You van try lowering the gain a little to gain more control over the heli.
__________________
T-Rex600-ICE100,WR10ABEC,Scorp4025-1100+17T,Kasama head,QUK Swash CNC Tail,G-Force blocks,3152,DS760+BLS251,DX7+AR7000,FM.
Blade400
-CC ICE50,Scorp2221-8+12T,Sonix Head&Tail,5A BEC,HS65HB,Quark+3500G,AR7000,Align Carbon blades,TRex500 Skids,Flymentor.
pril250 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 06:13 PM   #751
pril250
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,783
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London, Uk
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joshuaj View Post
I have set up Flymentor on my 450QS.
When I spool up, the heli seems to slowly rotate counter clockwise..
It's not the tail servo reverse since I checked that already.
Any ideas?
Did you perform a mechanical tail setup?
__________________
T-Rex600-ICE100,WR10ABEC,Scorp4025-1100+17T,Kasama head,QUK Swash CNC Tail,G-Force blocks,3152,DS760+BLS251,DX7+AR7000,FM.
Blade400
-CC ICE50,Scorp2221-8+12T,Sonix Head&Tail,5A BEC,HS65HB,Quark+3500G,AR7000,Align Carbon blades,TRex500 Skids,Flymentor.
pril250 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 06:16 AM   #752
bach939
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: illinois
Default Futaba three way switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivor Hill View Post
Pin the heli down so that it cannot fly and run it up to speed with FM in position mode 60% gain. The blades should remain level, if they do not then you have vibration problems or you are useing an unsuitable gyro pad.
If the blades remain level then the swash needs re-setting useing helibal servo neutrals and or mechanicle settings.
It should only be necassary to use a few clicks of TX trim.
Can you please tell me how to setup a three way switch on Futaba 9CAP for flymentor position - off - heading settings????

Thanks,

Jim
bach939 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 11:53 PM   #753
koenejet
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Newark, Delaware
Default

Hello,
Today I installed a flymentor on my T-Rex 500. I am brand new to the flymentor, and am having a problem. I browsed through a few pages here, and haven't found my problem mentioned yet, but incase I just missed it and it's already been answered, I apologize, but I would really appreciate any feedback.

The problem is a bad twitching in the tail servo. The twitching actually gradually drives the servo into a full left turn. It doesn't matter what settings I put in. When I disconnect the flymentor rudder/gyro plugs, and connect in the original gyro I was using, then it works fine.

I'm assuming the tail gyro function of my flymentor is fried. I did read that that gyro isn't very good, so most people use a different gyro anyway, so maybe I'm better off using my original gyro anyway.

However I'm a little concerned about flying with a faulty unit, even though nothing else seems affected.

So, any thoughts? Is there any place that sells just a gyro if I decide I want to replace that part?

Thanks in advance for any help,
koenejet is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 07:42 AM   #754
Ivor Hill
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plymouth devon UK
Default

Hi Jim. Plug the blue FM wire into a spare channel on your receiver, normally channel 7. Go to aux switch on the TX and set a 3 way switch to channel 7 normally switch e. The switch will now select FM modes it will also set the gains for positional and balance mode and they will be to high, so go to end points on channel 7 and set the end point for positional gain to about 60 and balance gain to about 85 to start. Hover and set these values for best performance. Hope that helps.
Ivor Hill is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 07:51 AM   #755
Ivor Hill
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plymouth devon UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by koenejet View Post
Hello,
Today I installed a flymentor on my T-Rex 500. I am brand new to the flymentor, and am having a problem. I browsed through a few pages here, and haven't found my problem mentioned yet, but incase I just missed it and it's already been answered, I apologize, but I would really appreciate any feedback.

The problem is a bad twitching in the tail servo. The twitching actually gradually drives the servo into a full left turn. It doesn't matter what settings I put in. When I disconnect the flymentor rudder/gyro plugs, and connect in the original gyro I was using, then it works fine.

I'm assuming the tail gyro function of my flymentor is fried. I did read that that gyro isn't very good, so most people use a different gyro anyway, so maybe I'm better off using my original gyro anyway.

However I'm a little concerned about flying with a faulty unit, even though nothing else seems affected.

So, any thoughts? Is there any place that sells just a gyro if I decide I want to replace that part?

Thanks in advance for any help,
It is unlikely that you FM is faulty A lot of people have problems setting up the tail servo and most are not happy with it even when they get it working, it is only a cheap piezo gyro. It can be made to work but it is better to use a separate better quality gyro. No you cannot buy a spare FM gyro.
Ivor Hill is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 08:17 AM   #756
bach939
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: illinois
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivor Hill View Post
Hi Jim. Plug the blue FM wire into a spare channel on your receiver, normally channel 7. Go to aux switch on the TX and set a 3 way switch to channel 7 normally switch e. The switch will now select FM modes it will also set the gains for positional and balance mode and they will be to high, so go to end points on channel 7 and set the end point for positional gain to about 60 and balance gain to about 85 to start. Hover and set these values for best performance. Hope that helps.

Thanks Ivor! I got it.
bach939 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 02:56 PM   #757
koenejet
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Newark, Delaware
Default

Thanks for the info. I'll just keep the other gyro on it and try it like that.
thanks again,
koenejet is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Flight Stabilization


Flight Stabilization Flight Stabilization

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com