Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Batteries and Charging Support > Brand Specific Charger and Battery Support


Brand Specific Charger and Battery Support Brand Specific Charger and Battery Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2012, 04:53 PM   #61
pakk
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tracy, ca
Default

Before I modified the unit, it worked good as a solo unit. So I'm sure they are jumpered right.

But just to be sure, when I get home tonight, I'm going to reconnect the DC chassis ground and see if this unit performs likes it's suppose to as a solo unit.
pakk is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 09:02 PM   #62
pakk
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tracy, ca
Default

So here is what I did. I re soldered the jumpers and I still got un stable voltage. I had both posts isolated. I then took the shrink tube off from behind the board to re connect the DC ground to how it was with the screws. I got 12.3 stable.

So it seems these PS is not liking not having DC ground opened.
pakk is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 11:11 PM   #63
thanasi
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,466
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto Canada
Default

Pakk, have you taken wires 1,2 and grounded to the neg post on the board ?
read my post #28.
I just ckd mine, the ps with the isolated dc ground is a solid 12.6v
__________________
Goblin 500,T-450 pro Dfc, 130 X,
Brushless Nano,MSH Mini P
RUSH 750-KDE495-CC160HV
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
thanasi is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 12:51 AM   #64
pakk
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tracy, ca
Default

I think I have it figured out. I had limited time tonight. I have pins 4 and 8 shorted together to lower the fan speeds. Opening that connection seemed to have cleaned the voltage up a lot.
pakk is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 09:23 PM   #65
pakk
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tracy, ca
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thanasi View Post
Pakk, have you taken wires 1,2 and grounded to the neg post on the board ?
read my post #28.
I just ckd mine, the ps with the isolated dc ground is a solid 12.6v

I have 1,2,10 grounded to the negative post. 4, 5, 8 shorted together. With the DC- isolated, I get unstable voltage. With it connected, im solid at 12.6. I've done this with both power supplies.

I no longer have the fan slowed down. It did help stabilize the voltage, but it's not stable enough.

Is it possible that there are different revisions of these power supplies?
pakk is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 09:59 PM   #66
thanasi
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,466
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto Canada
Default

Any thing is possible but u would be the first
__________________
Goblin 500,T-450 pro Dfc, 130 X,
Brushless Nano,MSH Mini P
RUSH 750-KDE495-CC160HV
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
thanasi is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 04:16 AM   #67
Sambonator
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Orange County, CA
Smile

Hi!
I'm trying to put together a 24v power supply with two DPS600PB-B's.
I think I got all of the instructions but I'm still unclear on some points:

If I isolate the DC ground on one of the power supplies, can I keep both AC grounds connected? And if so, can I have the two cases touching each other?

Can I isolate DC ground on both units and keep both AC grounds connected? If so can I have the two cases touching?

Are there any concerns with this setup? (do I need to prevent my charger from touching the PS cases?)

Thank you!
Sam
Sambonator is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 08:18 AM   #68
The WoodCrafter
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Westminster, California
Default

Isolate 1 DC ground, keep both AC grounds and the cases can touch.
The WoodCrafter is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 10:57 AM   #69
Gregor99
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,605
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bothell,Wa
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sambonator View Post
Are there any concerns with this setup? (do I need to prevent my charger from touching the PS cases?)

Thank you!
Sam
In most scenarios its not an issue if your charger touches the power supply. However if you are going to also provide 12v for a second charger, do so using the first supply in the series (the one with the ground you are using for the 24v DC). If you tap the 12v from the second supply then the charger connected to that 12v will not have a common ground with the supply or the other chargers. If they touch it will cause short across the first supply.
__________________
Greg
______________________________________________
Synergy - Compass - Align
Dual Powerlab Beta Team - Revolectrix Forum Support (volunteer)
Gregor99 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 04:21 PM   #70
jetblue2135
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,131
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Connecticut
Default

Here's how my 2 HP600's are wired on the inside, and a pic of the outside. I prefer the clean setup. I have 2 of these PS's together for 24V for my 720 DUO and 2 of them for my icharger 306B, allows me to fly my 700E back to back all day with just 3 sets of packs.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG1440.jpg
Views:	586
Size:	36.4 KB
ID:	297268   Click image for larger version

Name:	ps.jpg
Views:	581
Size:	62.6 KB
ID:	297269   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG1424.jpg
Views:	507
Size:	34.9 KB
ID:	297272  
__________________
ALIGN I Team Futaba I Thunder Power I Castle Creations
jetblue2135 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 05:38 PM   #71
buzzsaw 46
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,673
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: SE MN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregor99 View Post
In most scenarios its not an issue if your charger touches the power supply. However if you are going to also provide 12v for a second charger, do so using the first supply in the series (the one with the ground you are using for the 24v DC). If you tap the 12v from the second supply then the charger connected to that 12v will not have a common ground with the supply or the other chargers. If they touch it will cause short across the first supply.
Greg, I'm using two dell poweredge ps's, right now I have a 12v tap on both units. I haven't powered it up yet but was wondering if I should do it like this, it makes sense from an amp draw point of view. Since they both have isolated DC grounds I don't think it will be a problem but thought I would check before I cook something.

Thanks

Jason
__________________
Compass 6hv & 7hv. MSH Protos. RCer Dragonus Pro & Elite. MS Hornet Custom. Robbe Eolo. MCPX.
buzzsaw 46 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 12:04 AM   #72
Gregor99
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,605
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bothell,Wa
Default

Even though the grounds may be floating, one ground is connected to the other supplie's DC positive side (if they are connected in series). If you connect a charger to the second supply, the ground of the charger (and possibly its case) will have a 12v potential compared to anything connected to the first supply. For instance, you have two chargers, one connected to each supply, if the charger cases touch, then it will short the first supply. Also if you connect a USB cable and PC to the second supply there could be a voltage difference between the PC's ground and the supply ground. The issues associated with this will vary by vendor. Some have addressed it and other haven't. Damage to the USB port on the PC may result.

In general if you have a number of chargers that cannot take 24v and one that can, its probably better to get yourself a third 12v supply, than try to eek out every bit of capacity with three chargers. $15 on ebay for 47 amp supply. Dinner tonight cost me more than that. Its not impossible to do what you are considering, and its possible it can be done safely. I just wouldn't want to mess with it since its so cheap to add a third supply.
__________________
Greg
______________________________________________
Synergy - Compass - Align
Dual Powerlab Beta Team - Revolectrix Forum Support (volunteer)
Gregor99 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 12:09 AM   #73
buzzsaw 46
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,673
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: SE MN
Default

I already have a 12v 25a PS so I will go that route. Glad I though to ask before I ran this setup! I had a feeling I was missing something

Thank you for your time.
__________________
Compass 6hv & 7hv. MSH Protos. RCer Dragonus Pro & Elite. MS Hornet Custom. Robbe Eolo. MCPX.
buzzsaw 46 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 08:21 PM   #74
funprise
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: philippines
Default

Good day to ya all

i recently got a hp unit i wanted to convert. i followed the instructions on the tjin site but i keep blowing up the fuse. if you look at the pin side (not ribbon) im joing pins 6,9,10 together.

What could i have did wrong. i intend to go with 12v only so a single ps is all i need.
funprise is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 10:30 AM   #75
Scarface26
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Colorado Springs, CO.
Default

What you have done should work OK. I chose to short pins 6,8, & 10 together instead, but either way should work. Check to make sure that no other pins are making contact. That is quite likely to be your problem. Did you use servo connections over the pins and short the wires together?
Scarface26 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 01:41 PM   #76
808Hanapaa
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hawaii
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thanasi View Post
J Damage finally did it !!!!!!!!!!! thanks again for sticking with me bro
Just a recap, ribbon starting from red hehe, 1=red ! ok 1,2 shorted to ground DC terminal, 4,5,8 shorted together, right side screw removed and isolate board from case, on left side both jumpers snipped, blue and purple wires capped.
This is all done with Hot-Swap removed !!
Hi everyone,

A few questions:

1. If I remove the Hot Swap then I need to ground wires 1&2 to DC post?
2. If I don't remove Hot Swap and work with the pins using servo plugs, do I still need to ground wires 1&2 to something? If not can you please explain why?

Thank You in Advance
808Hanapaa is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 01:27 PM   #77
d3sbo
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: uk
Default

nice pics my 2 turn up tomorrow
__________________
2 x Blade MCPX,stock & duel Brushless
Trex 250FBL,BeastX,Scorpion,Trex 450,Scorpion,4s,Jazz esc,Trex 500FBL,3GX V3.1,5s,Scorpion
Avant, Kasama head,OS 91 OMI,XeroG Raptor,Total G,Outrage Head
Trex 600 EFL Pro super combo,BeastX
d3sbo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 05:13 PM   #78
martingru
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Norway
Question DPS-600PB

Hi , i dint want to make a new thread so i dig out this one since my question in related exacly to this model ( DPS-600PB) of PSU.

All work great but only problem is , when my charger is connected with positive lead and i touch case of PSU with negative lead my charger is turning on .

I have isoleted the case with thick cartbord around but im wondering is that normal behavior ???


Regards Martin.
__________________
LOGO 600 SE Vbar5.3Pro -700 mm
LOGO 500 SE Beast X -600mm
MCPX BL
martingru is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 06:01 PM   #79
Gregor99
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,605
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bothell,Wa
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martingru View Post
All work great but only problem is , when my charger is connected with positive lead and i touch case of PSU with negative lead my charger is turning on ..
I'm not really following your description. At minimum, it sounds as if you disconnected the AC ground instead of the DC ground. If so, the AC ground should be reconnected and the DC ground should be disconnected. After that is done, its not necessary to physically isolate the supplies.

http://www.helifreak.com/showpost.ph...23&postcount=3
__________________
Greg
______________________________________________
Synergy - Compass - Align
Dual Powerlab Beta Team - Revolectrix Forum Support (volunteer)
Gregor99 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 06:33 PM   #80
martingru
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Norway
Default

My connection is :

AC>PSU> Charger - positive lead connected to PSU - when i touch PSU case with negative lead from charger its sparks and my charger is turning on .

All is working properly with + >+ and - > - , i can charge batts but im worried that case has negative polarity and can make spark when touched .
I didnt want to try with something other then my old charger .

I hope im not confusing anything .

Thank you for useful link.

Regards Martin

P.S unfortunatly i have no Ground in my AC socket now im really confused about useabilyty of my PSU ,i dont want to destroy upcoming new iCharger .
__________________
LOGO 600 SE Vbar5.3Pro -700 mm
LOGO 500 SE Beast X -600mm
MCPX BL

Last edited by martingru; 12-09-2012 at 06:50 PM.. Reason: Additional info
martingru is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Batteries and Charging Support > Brand Specific Charger and Battery Support


Brand Specific Charger and Battery Support Brand Specific Charger and Battery Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com