Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Skookum Robotics


Skookum Robotics Skookum Robotics SK-360 SK-540 & SK-720 Digital Flybar


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2012, 09:01 AM   #21
Chris Sexton
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,895
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Default

Very helpful thread indeed. I am now 6 flights (3 tuning and 3 hard FFF/Big Air) into my SK540. Flies great
__________________
Team Synergy/Team Scorpion/Team iKon
Chris Sexton is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 10:18 PM   #22
B@@MER
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Default

Maybe a dumb question but Ive Been away from Helis for awhile and just getting back in
I just picked up a 540 and was wondering if a fut9251 is a suitable servo on the tail. I have one from a 601 which had low time on it.

Thanks in advance
Kevin
__________________
If Ya Aint Burnin Ya Aint Learnin
Kev-o
B@@MER is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 12:25 AM   #23
desertstalker
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B@@MER View Post
I just picked up a 540 and was wondering if a fut9251 is a suitable servo on the tail. I have one from a 601 which had low time on it.
Should work fine, just make sure you get the settings correct (AFAIK it is 960us, 560Hz servo but check that).
__________________
-DX8
-MSH MiniProtos Stretched, SK720, DS95/DS95i, Hyp 4S 25C 2500mAh
-MSH Protos Stretched, Brain, Hyp DS16/BLS251, 6S 3000mAh
-Goblin 500, HC3SX, Hyp DH16/MKS980BL, Scorp 4015-1100
desertstalker is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 04:30 PM   #24
pctomlin
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,088
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Great State of Texas
Default

I just finished the maiden (two flights) on a 450 SEV2 heli with the 540, super happy with the performance right out of the gate. Besides being a fantastic FBL unit, between the videos and the guys here on the Skookum forum you can't go wrong. Special thanks to Georgi for his help. Gotta go, got some more flying to do.
__________________
Paul
Outrage 550 - Castle 3434-1100, Ice 100, Bec Pro, 94758z, Total G w/JR 8900G
Outrage 550 - 4020-1390, Ice 100, Bec Pro, JR 8717s, Total G w/JR 8900G
Rave Ballistic FSO - HKIII 4035-560, Ice HV160, Bec Pro, JR 8717s, Total G w/BL-9188
pctomlin is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 11:51 AM   #25
zosek
Registered Users
 
Posts: 275
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Slovenia
Default

I'm a little confused here. If i have standard reciever (futaba) i can't use governor?
__________________
Matija
zosek is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 12:06 PM   #26
heathy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,780
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Wiltshire England
Default

Yes that's right. If your using a normal rx then you have to forgot the gov! S-bus is the way forward here.


Sent from my iPhone 4s using tapatalk
__________________
X2 SK720 Minijazz 20 / WARP 360 SK540 Koby 55 / X4ii SK540 jive80 / X5 SK540 jive 100 / 6HV ultimate Helijive120 SK540 / 7HV SK540 YGE160k / Agile 7.2 SK540 KOSMIK / Futaba18mz / Skookum support rep / Halo blades
heathy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 10:02 AM   #27
dantemcc
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,924
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: georgia
Default

are there any setup vids for the sk540? Or are they both the same setup?
__________________
If you do not have faith in yourself, no one else will either.
dantemcc is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 10:21 AM   #28
georgi UK
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,149
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Default

=] generic apart from the self level tutorial....
__________________
georgi UK
georgi UK is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 06:38 PM   #29
dantemcc
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,924
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: georgia
Default

Why dont they tell you what to do in the case of something does work or the setup fails at a single step? I'm stuck on step 22 and have no clue how to get it right. I've tried everything under the sun and it still doesnt work. A video of what to do at a certain step if something fails, would be nice. But I guess I should hold my breath.
__________________
If you do not have faith in yourself, no one else will either.
dantemcc is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 12:19 PM   #30
kumar2494
Registered Users
 
Posts: 597
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Default

Im using an sk540 with a dx8 on my velocity 50 n2 with a gryphon remote glow ingiter plugged into the IO-B port. However, I cant switch it off, and Im not sure how to mix it with the throttle hold on my radio either. Does anyone know how to make this work?
__________________
Team KDE Motors
Team Xpert Servos
Team Cyclone Blades

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kumar2494 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 06:44 AM   #31
anthony1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,147
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: coral springs,florida,USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dantemcc View Post
Why dont they tell you what to do in the case of something does work or the setup fails at a single step? I'm stuck on step 22 and have no clue how to get it right. I've tried everything under the sun and it still doesnt work. A video of what to do at a certain step if something fails, would be nice. But I guess I should hold my breath.
i had the same problem until last night, evertything was at 100 % but still wouldn't get past this step , what i found was that the collective input from my transmitter was way too high , i reduced it in atv(pitch) in my transmitter until it started to go down in the software then put it back up to 100% in atv(transmitter) and a couple of extra clicks and it passed, so then i was able to finish the setup
__________________
gaui x2 sk 540
warp 360 sk540
gaui x4ii sk 540 14sgh
anthony1 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 12:12 AM   #32
x5heli
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Pearland, Tx
Default

Hi all pilots,
Here's website for skookum setup or tunning. All right here so dig it.
http://www.skookumrobotics.com/wiki/...itle=Main_Page

for advanced go here man.
http://www.skookumrobotics.com/wiki/...dvanced_Tuning
x5heli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 06:55 PM   #33
karma4u
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: California
Default

Hello

This is my second SK540, am about to set it up on my 550 sized heli. I was watching the setup videos again since I haven't set up the SK for a while, and something struck me.

I do not remember ... "resetting the gyro' in my previous setup. If you watch the "Blade Pitch & Phasing Adjustments" video(3rd video down on the first page), it mentions at 3:00 minute mark to reset the gyro.

I do not understand it. I do not think I had done it before. Hoping someone would confirm that it is a needed step. There is a possibility that the reset is built into the Wizard, then I must have done it. But, if I need to do the reset by pulling up the menu, I am sure I have not done it in the past.

Look forward to your feedback

cheers
karma4u is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 12:15 PM   #34
georgi UK
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,149
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Default

=] the reset is simply disconnecting from windows and reconnecting again, this happens during the wizard stages. nothing to worry about.
__________________
georgi UK
georgi UK is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 11:28 PM   #35
jdfelosi
Registered Users
 
Posts: 342
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: kentucky
Default

anyone know of any vid's for the 540 setup? or is it pretty much the same as the 720>?
jdfelosi is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 03:42 AM   #36
georgi UK
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,149
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Default

=]. Same deal, just follow the wizards and access the 540 manual in the "help" tab.
__________________
georgi UK
georgi UK is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 02:05 PM   #37
wearman
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Luis Obispo, California
Default External led wiring

Help!

According to the wiring diagram the external LED for the GPS unit is powered by plugging into SW-A on the sk720. But this plug is blocked by the Bus c wire from the power bus. Recall this wire is plugged in flat and blocks the top pin of IO-B, IO-A(T) and SW-A. So how the hell are you supposed to plug in the power wire in this same port if one of the pins is already blocked?

So it says plug into any power source on the bus? Then why pick this as an example to show if it clearly can't work?
wearman is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 03:46 PM   #38
georgi UK
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,149
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wearman View Post
Help!

According to the wiring diagram the external LED for the GPS unit is powered by plugging into SW-A on the sk720. But this plug is blocked by the Bus c wire from the power bus. Recall this wire is plugged in flat and blocks the top pin of IO-B, IO-A(T) and SW-A. So how the hell are you supposed to plug in the power wire in this same port if one of the pins is already blocked?

So it says plug into any power source on the bus? Then why pick this as an example to show if it clearly can't work?
=] only the middle and lower pins are needed for power, mod the plug if needed or use an open port........
__________________
georgi UK
georgi UK is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 04:20 PM   #39
wearman
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Luis Obispo, California
Default

Thanks, I will use another port.
wearman is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Skookum Robotics


Skookum Robotics Skookum Robotics SK-360 SK-540 & SK-720 Digital Flybar

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com