Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Electric Micro/Mini Helicopters > Zoom/Shogun 400


Zoom/Shogun 400 Electric - Zoom - Shogun 400 Specific Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2012, 05:45 PM   #21
Cheryl
Registered Users
 
Posts: 33
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: virginia
Default

there are videos on utube showing how to setup the end points for the skyfly transmitter. You won't need any mixes yet. I haven't used mine in quite a while but maybe I can help there. I am sure I still have setting in my program.
Cheryl is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 06:05 PM   #22
huntxtrm
Registered Users
 
Posts: 87
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Default

Cool! Thanks.. That is good info. tell me anything you can about that transmitter. lots of stuff out there, just mostly reviews, ive found. I need all the help i can get.
__________________
Shogun V1,
Belt conversion kit From Hobby People
huntxtrm is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 08:20 PM   #23
Cheryl
Registered Users
 
Posts: 33
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: virginia
Default

No problem...the program is on my other lap top. I will get it tomorrow and open the program. I am sure the throttle and pich surves are still there.
Cheryl is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 04:07 PM   #24
Cheryl
Registered Users
 
Posts: 33
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: virginia
Default

Sorry for being absent for so long. Life always seems to throw me wicked curve balls. Anyway I am back so where do you want to start with the fly sky?
Cheryl is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 05:58 PM   #25
huntxtrm
Registered Users
 
Posts: 87
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Default

I am having trouble with the limits? When i adjust the limit points on my servo's via the transmiter, it slows the servo's way down. Is there some other way to adjust the end points so i don't overdrive my servo's, but they keep thier speed?
__________________
Shogun V1,
Belt conversion kit From Hobby People
huntxtrm is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 04:15 PM   #26
Cheryl
Registered Users
 
Posts: 33
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: virginia
Default

Wow...I didn't have that problem... I set them in my computer/tx and the speed never changed. Let me do some research and I'get back to you.
Cheryl is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 04:52 PM   #27
Cheryl
Registered Users
 
Posts: 33
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: virginia
Default

Check out this link. It is a club dedicated to the fly sky radio. http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Flysky_RC_radio/
Cheryl is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 09:51 AM   #28
huntxtrm
Registered Users
 
Posts: 87
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Default

here is a pic of my heli, almost ready to fly? But Skeered! I am still having touble with the rudder servo speed, i will check out that forum you suggested. Thanks. Also my esc seems eratic at low speeds? Smoothes out when i apply more throttle. Is that normal? It is a Datrum 40 amp speed control. Not an expensive one, it this a common trait of cheapies? Also when my heli is setting completely idle, with transmiter and reciever on, some of the servos seem to twitch on their own. Can bundling the leads from the servo's cause induction, interferences? Or do i just need to adjust something?
__________________
Shogun V1,
Belt conversion kit From Hobby People
huntxtrm is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 08:47 PM   #29
Cheryl
Registered Users
 
Posts: 33
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: virginia
Default

great looking heli. I would check the heli to be sure you don't have any binding.which can make the heli seem eratic at low speeds (low voltage to the motor) from there I would definitely look at the esc. What gyro are you using? Have you set it up properly? finless bob has a good video for setting up gyros. It is for a fatuba 401 but it is pretty unibersal. Also make sure it set to digital if you have a digital servo. I really hope this helps.

Cheryl Ann
Cheryl is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 08:52 PM   #30
Cheryl
Registered Users
 
Posts: 33
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: virginia
Default

You also might want to check your belt tension and gear mesh with you motor. both can cause eratic low speed operation.
Cheryl is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 10:28 AM   #31
huntxtrm
Registered Users
 
Posts: 87
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Default

Thanks Cheryl. I will check those things. I have a analog servo on the tail, gyro is set to analog. I will check out the set up for the gyro. I just set it up by the instructions that came with it, they were pretty simplistic, not very thorough. My gear mesh, might be a little tight, it will check that as well. Thanks a bunch, i will let yall know what happens and what doesnt.
__________________
Shogun V1,
Belt conversion kit From Hobby People
huntxtrm is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 05:34 PM   #32
huntxtrm
Registered Users
 
Posts: 87
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Default

belt tension, gear mesh is good. gyro set to d/s off, i have a plain old analog servo, i think. I really don't know what distinquishes a digital servo from a normal one. These were part of a kit, it was cheap, probably regular old servo. it has a really small motor inside of it with a small electronics board and plastic gears. I got the kit from xheli, it is the kit that comes with the motor, 4 servos, esc, and gyro for like 49 bucks. supposed to be of decent quality for a beginner settup, i was told? I switched the gyro to 2 on the reciever, still twitches. I think that is what is making speed eratic too, it is possibly getting some sort of feed back as well. What u think? I am fixing to check out the gyro set up vid.
__________________
Shogun V1,
Belt conversion kit From Hobby People
huntxtrm is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 07:28 PM   #33
huntxtrm
Registered Users
 
Posts: 87
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Default

Ok, started thinking! Almost hurt myself, had to slow down. I started messing with my transmitter, thinking maybe it had something to do with some settings i had fooled with. In gyro sens, i moved my up rate down from 100 to 40. moved my dn rate up from 0 to 40. now my rudder servo isnt twitching, but now gyro is not working! OMG! On this transmitter it has Uprate, DNRate, Model all under gyro sense. If i change the model from gy to std, then rates have normal at one end of the spectrum and avc at the other end? What is that? If i put model at std, rates only have norm, no avc. I have the model set for GY. Is that right? What are the differnces in norm and avc. I have my rates in the norm range, should i have them in the avc range? Still have esc twitching, or eratic what ever you want to call it. I wonder if it has something to do with another setting in the transmitter? I still have not learned this transmitter. I tried the forum you mentioned, have not been accepted into it as of yet. HELP!
__________________
Shogun V1,
Belt conversion kit From Hobby People
huntxtrm is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 12:20 AM   #34
tigger69
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: texas
Default u still out there

not really familiar with the radio u have.... but mabye i can help. set radio to norm i think so u have norm and avc then set your endpoints. i think about 65 for avc and 25- 32 for norm.reset ur gyro sens to 100 and 0

Last edited by tigger69; 05-13-2012 at 12:21 AM.. Reason: missed
tigger69 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 03:52 PM   #35
Cheryl
Registered Users
 
Posts: 33
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: virginia
Default Sotty..for some reason emails are not forwarding from here to my email.

first thing take your gyro out of heading hold and then adjust your limits mechanically.
Refer to finless Bobs setting up a 401 gyro. that is some really good info. You don't need to worry about anything but normal for now. gyro sensitivity should be 60. reset your gyro to hh mode and that should work.

once again I am sorry for not replying sooner. I will have check and see why I am not receiving my emails. Or just make sure I am checking here more often.

Cheryl
Cheryl is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 04:00 PM   #36
Cheryl
Registered Users
 
Posts: 33
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: virginia
Default

I cannot tell you how much you really need to watch the finless bob videos on this subject. Mainly the gy401 set up. The setting on the fatuba he uses do apply to this radio, they are just labeled differently. He helped me a bunch. Pay close attention and you will see how they apply.
Cheryl is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Electric Micro/Mini Helicopters > Zoom/Shogun 400


Zoom/Shogun 400 Electric - Zoom - Shogun 400 Specific Discussion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com