Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Electric Helicopters


Electric Helicopters Dedicated to larger than Micro/Mini Electric Helicopters of any Brand


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2012, 09:07 PM   #221
HELIHANKSTER
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,585
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Spotsylvania,VA
Default

Just did a quick motor check on the hobbyking site. These two motors look like they might work with the DD inline setup.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ess_Motor.html

This one might also work with your design Scot.
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...00KV_315W.html
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
HELIHANKSTER is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 09:32 PM   #222
johnnycat500
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,290
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Riverside,Ca
Default

Both of those motors fit the 450 pro motor mount.

#1 : check
johnnycat500 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 11:44 PM   #223
ScotY
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USA
Default

How wide is it between the frames? You'll need a little more than 28mm unless there's a cutout in the frame.

If you use a motor and extend the frame, isn't that enough length to retain the stock boom and belt with your longer blades? That would be easier if you didn't have to source a new belt.
ScotY is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 07:34 AM   #224
HELIHANKSTER
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,585
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Spotsylvania,VA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnycat500 View Post
Both of those motors fit the 450 pro motor mount.

#1 : check
I like the second one I listed. Might have to throw one in the cart next time I make a hobby king order.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
HELIHANKSTER is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 07:36 AM   #225
HELIHANKSTER
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,585
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Spotsylvania,VA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScotY View Post
How wide is it between the frames? You'll need a little more than 28mm unless there's a cutout in the frame.

If you use a motor and extend the frame, isn't that enough length to retain the stock boom and belt with your longer blades? That would be easier if you didn't have to source a new belt.

The Pro frame is 26mm wide. Pretty sure you would want to cut out the frame around the motor. Like how it is in hochoco pictures. That way the motor gets plenty of air for cooling.

I would totally say yes, if you extended the frame around the boom block back about 50mm, the stock boom should work fine...sweetness.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
HELIHANKSTER is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 07:38 AM   #226
HELIHANKSTER
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,585
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Spotsylvania,VA
Default

Well I ordered the front torque tube gears to try the TT to pulley/belt mod from infinity hobby and while I was at it, went ahead and ordered the stretch 480 boom with the extended torque tube shafts. Figure even if the mod doesn’t work, I’ll just put the stretch TT boom on my stock HK 450 Pro and order up some more 360mm blades…Yeah Baby! …win win in my book.

http://www.infinity-hobby.com/main/p...oducts_id=7076
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by HELIHANKSTER; 05-13-2012 at 06:38 AM..
HELIHANKSTER is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 05:34 PM   #227
johnnycat500
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,290
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Riverside,Ca
Default

How far away from the boom should the motor be? This motor is a common motor for quads. ntm 2826 1200 kv
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_7149  2000X1328.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	53.3 KB
ID:	316115   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_7152  2000X1328.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	44.4 KB
ID:	316117  
johnnycat500 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 07:36 PM   #228
HELIHANKSTER
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,585
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Spotsylvania,VA
Default

Mockup looks great JC!
Not sure Bud, do you have a rough guess what the length of the coupler needs to be. I would think the coupler would dictate the motor distance from the boom. Using that style of boom clamps should give you some leeway on the distance. You can always move the boom back or forward to make a good connection.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
HELIHANKSTER is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 07:44 PM   #229
johnnycat500
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,290
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Riverside,Ca
Default

The boom blocks would need to be moved up about a 1/4 inch so this motor will not hit the main motor. it would be pretty strait forward. Get all the parts and we will do it!

I would say 1/2 inch for the coupler.
johnnycat500 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 08:05 PM   #230
hochoco
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Fairfax, VA
Default

Johnnycat & Helihankster,

I was pleasantly surprised to see this recent development.

Thank you for following-up on the idea.
I am impressed by your ingenuity and skills in trying to come up with the dream and perfect heli!
I have no doubt that your collaborative efforts will result in a working prototype very soon.

JC, please put me in line to buy the kit in case you decide to sell :-)
Your mock-up gave me an idea that it can be used for any heli, and it is just a matter of making an adapter to attach it to the frame. Maybe you can also make one for a 500-size heli at a later time?

I can't wait to see your progress and the success of such an exciting project.
Good luck to both of you!

Helihankster, thanks for sharing your experience using a 4S setup. I need to try it on my heli as well.

Best regards,

HAROLD
hochoco is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 08:18 PM   #231
johnnycat500
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,290
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Riverside,Ca
Default

Hey Harold nice to hear from you. If it works for HH I will make sure you get one. How is your dd 450 doing?
johnnycat500 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 06:38 AM   #232
HELIHANKSTER
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,585
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Spotsylvania,VA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnycat500 View Post
The boom blocks would need to be moved up about a 1/4 inch so this motor will not hit the main motor. it would be pretty strait forward. Get all the parts and we will do it!

I would say 1/2 inch for the coupler.
Right with you JC, inch up should do it. It also puts the horizontal boom alignment back closer to the original Align Pro design. Wonder though, if using Scots idea to extend the frame back at the boom block isn’t the way to go. I find the idea of being able to use the stock length boom with 360mm blades very appealing.

I have to say JC, this double motor setup does look bad a$$ and yeah I was too lazy to take off the belt pulley and motor pinion for the picture.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN2964T (640x480).jpg
Views:	160
Size:	197.1 KB
ID:	316248  
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by HELIHANKSTER; 05-13-2012 at 08:11 AM..
HELIHANKSTER is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 06:40 AM   #233
HELIHANKSTER
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,585
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Spotsylvania,VA
Default

Hi Harold

Loved the pictures of your stretch fbl D450 with DDVP tail and your idea of the inline tail motor is sweet!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
HELIHANKSTER is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 06:50 AM   #234
johnnycat500
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,290
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Riverside,Ca
Default

Yes we could move the boom blocks back to use the stock boom with 360 blades. It would be tail heavy with 3s,but you could shorten the stock boom for the 325 blades so the cg would be right.

edit : guess that won't work, forgot it's a tt. To use the stock tt boom shaft and all that goes with it is the way to go.
johnnycat500 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 07:06 AM   #235
johnnycat500
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,290
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Riverside,Ca
Default

Was looking at HH and harold's cp set up and saw there is no need to have that piece in there that you cut out to use the stock servo location. I will change that in the file.
johnnycat500 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 08:02 AM   #236
HELIHANKSTER
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,585
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Spotsylvania,VA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnycat500 View Post
Yes we could move the boom blocks back to use the stock boom with 360 blades. It would be tail heavy with 3s,but you could shorten the stock boom for the 325 blades so the cg would be right.

edit : guess that won't work, forgot it's a tt. To use the stock tt boom shaft and all that goes with it is the way to go.
Yeah I’m worried about the CofG to if the boom block were to be extended back. I’m going to be running 4s from here on out, so thinking Cof G wouldn’t be bad using a heaver 4s. Wasn’t thinking about running 3s at all. But rethinking it, the added frame and heaver 4s to get the CofG right (2200mah 4s instead of the 1800mah 4s I’m using now) would add weight that this bird really doesn’t need. Might be better to leave the boom block location alone so you can go either way (stock or stretched) by using the boom setup of your choice.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by HELIHANKSTER; 05-13-2012 at 03:56 PM.. Reason: I suck at prononciation
HELIHANKSTER is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 08:03 AM   #237
HELIHANKSTER
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,585
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Spotsylvania,VA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnycat500 View Post
Was looking at HH and harold's cp set up and saw there is no need to have that piece in there that you cut out to use the stock servo location. I will change that in the file.
Sweet!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
HELIHANKSTER is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 08:28 AM   #238
hochoco
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Fairfax, VA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnycat500 View Post
Hey Harold nice to hear from you. If it works for HH I will make sure you get one. How is your dd 450 doing?
Thanks for asking about my 450DD. Here's the current state of my DD 450Pro CP w/ DD variable pitch tail:

1. I changed it to a flybar head temporarily since I used the FBL controller for a multi-blade setup on another heli.
2. I retrofitted the landing gear to use the one from a TRex 600.
3. For the canopy, I am using the one from Gazaur 480.
4. I changed the tail motor to a lower KV so I can use a single 3S battery instead of using a separate battery for the tail.

I am enjoying flying this heli but a little bit on the heavy side. Unfortunately, I do not have a scale to weigh it. I still have to convince my son to take the time to take a video while I'm flying.

Using a DDVP tail motor makes it tail heavy so I need to compensate with a bigger battery. I am currently using a 5000mah 3S which balances it well. The good part is that I can fly for 12 minutes. The bad side is that I find it a bit under-powered so I will try a 4S setup as what Helihankster did.

Using an in-line direct drive tail as you and Helihankster are experimenting, will help make it well balanced which will hopefully result in a lower overall flying weight.

The good thing I like about a separate motor for the tail is that I can set the main rotor to a lower head speed without affecting the tail authority. This will be a good setup for scale when using a multi-blade rotor head. Of course, it looks very cool too :-)

I'm really excited and I'm keeping close watch on the progress of your collaborative efforts.

Helihankster, I saw that you plan to drill the motor to fit a 5mm shaft? Have you done it yet? That sounds like a good idea!

HAROLD
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2130.JPG
Views:	52
Size:	118.6 KB
ID:	316255   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2131.JPG
Views:	48
Size:	133.5 KB
ID:	316256   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2132.JPG
Views:	50
Size:	96.7 KB
ID:	316257   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2133.JPG
Views:	51
Size:	124.9 KB
ID:	316258  
hochoco is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 12:34 PM   #239
ScotY
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USA
Default

I realize you guys want to use the torque tube but just to throw another idea out there...you could mount the motor on the side of the frame, outside that is, using a belt. This might allow the motor to stay closer to the main shaft for CG consideration or position as desired for more tail length. Two benefits...no motor mount needed and you'd get rid of the half twist in the belt for a little less drag.
ScotY is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 03:53 PM   #240
HELIHANKSTER
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,585
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Spotsylvania,VA
Default

@Harold

You should definitely try 4s on that sweet machine. The power increase is very noticeable. Just don’t be like me, make sure everything is tighten down good, cause 4s will find any weak spots.

The Gazaur canopy looks awesome! Always wanted to try one out on one of my 450s.

Wanted to drill out the shaft today, but being its mother day and my sons birthday day is tomorrow I had to do some cleaning up for his party so didn’t really have a chance. Wonder if JC has had a chance to drill out his motor yet.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
HELIHANKSTER is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Electric Helicopters


Electric Helicopters Dedicated to larger than Micro/Mini Electric Helicopters of any Brand

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com