Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > RC Helicopter Flight School


RC Helicopter Flight School Instructional Flying Tips, Tricks, Videos, and Q&A


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2012, 07:06 PM   #1
syma rc helicopters
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Philippines
Default if it is ok to use the throttle hold when working on your heli

The reason I and most heli pilots who advocate safety recomend this is simple.
When a pilot uses the Thro hold as a method to shut down the motor while working on a heli, they become complacent after some time. Inevitably they begin to rush of forget, and take it for granted the motor is shut down and this opens a door for a terrible accident. Working on a heli at such a close range, it is always best to aire on the side of safety!
The Throttle hold is to prevent damage to your gears should you find yourself going down durring flight, most newcomers will do what comes natural and as they panic, the first thing they do is slam the collective down .
__________________
Fly me as long as the battery lasts.....
syma rc helicopters is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 08:38 AM   #2
BaconRaygun
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,352
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Default

When doing head setup, I NEVER depend on throttle hold alone... I either un-plug the motor wires, or, on my Fusion50 since the radio gear is powered by the BEC I just power up the gear without powering up the ESC.

Donít get into the habit of just relying on TH when working on a heli... itís incredibly easy to accidentally hit the switch and find yourself with an out of control heli on the work bench.

As a rule of thumb... spend as little time possible in the blade (or prop) path of an active ESC.
__________________
~SAB~ Goblin 700 ~Compass~ Warp 360 ~Blade~ mCP X (BL)
AMA# 977012
**Team BOCA Bearings**
BaconRaygun is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 09:07 AM   #3
Delano013
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Default

You make an interesting and valid point. I too have been guilty of this...mostly because it is fairly convenient to do this. I would say prior to you mentioning this that I may even have developed a false sense of safety from doing this.
The only time I typically unplug the motor is when doing my pitch set up at mid stick. Usually when checking servo operation I just put throttle lock on and use appropriate channel to test servos. With the BEC going thru the ESC, disconnecting it would be a pain and may change my throttle calibration. Any other ideas...now that you have me thinking on this?

Delano
Delano013 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 09:54 AM   #4
DeeEff
Registered Users
 
Posts: 72
 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Way North Bay, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vicovaludemero View Post
When doing head setup, I NEVER depend on throttle hold alone... I either un-plug the motor wires, or, on my Fusion50 since the radio gear is powered by the BEC I just power up the gear without powering up the ESC.
+1 !

http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=321704

-Don
__________________
Blade: mSR, 120SR, mCPX, 450
Align: 250 SE, 450 Sport, 450 Pro
DeeEff is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 02:59 PM   #5
BaconRaygun
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,352
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delano013 View Post
You make an interesting and valid point. I too have been guilty of this...mostly because it is fairly convenient to do this. I would say prior to you mentioning this that I may even have developed a false sense of safety from doing this.
The only time I typically unplug the motor is when doing my pitch set up at mid stick. Usually when checking servo operation I just put throttle lock on and use appropriate channel to test servos. With the BEC going thru the ESC, disconnecting it would be a pain and may change my throttle calibration. Any other ideas...now that you have me thinking on this?

Delano
If you are using the BEC from your ESC, then I'm afraid the best choice is to just unplug the motor. With the helis and airplanes that I have built where I wouldnít be able to power the radio gear separately, I just install the motor in a way where pulling the wires is easy.

I guess alternately you can loosen the motor and de-mesh it from the main gear... that would essentially do the same, but IMO, that is a bigger PITA then just un-plugging a few wires.
__________________
~SAB~ Goblin 700 ~Compass~ Warp 360 ~Blade~ mCP X (BL)
AMA# 977012
**Team BOCA Bearings**
BaconRaygun is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 01:53 AM   #6
syma rc helicopters
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Philippines
Default

Never allow yourself to neglect safety over excitement lesson # 1 .
__________________
Fly me as long as the battery lasts.....
syma rc helicopters is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 02:07 AM   #7
smrceo
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,129
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Vacaville, Ca
Default

I am guilty of using th when working and spooled my 450 up on the bar in my kitchen when I accidentally bumped the switch. I like to use a receiver pack now.

Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk
__________________
Steve
Alees Rush 750 - Vbar Silverline -YGE160HV, Scorpion 4525-520
Outrage Fusion 50 - Vbar Silverline, HobbyWing 70HV, Quantum 4125-560
Compass Warp 360 - Mini Vbar, YGE60
smrceo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 02:17 AM   #8
jamin_00
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,597
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Essex, UK
Default

Done that many a time just using TH but now I always plug a little ni-cad pack in to the Vbar to supply power for anything setup related.
__________________
The difference between knowing your s**t and knowing you're s**t!
Optipower - Kontronik Drives
jamin_00 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 02:31 AM   #9
krobinson103
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Korea, Shihung (South of Seoul)
Default

I prefer to remove the earth lead to the motor as well. At worst you will get some twitches and sounds, but if the switch is turned off for some reason with the motor plugged in things could get ugly.
krobinson103 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 08:08 AM   #10
teb1963
Registered Users
 
Posts: 192
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Regina, (city that rhymes with fun)
Default

Hi. I was working on my tail, I had just put new servo and was checking limits. Went to put radio on the table while looking at heli. It was not completely on, slid off, I hit the throttle when catching it from falling...three cuts later. Pretty much healed now. Been a month.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1327672977.516900.jpg
Views:	410
Size:	41.2 KB
ID:	284099   Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1327673059.799497.jpg
Views:	316
Size:	32.6 KB
ID:	284100  
__________________
Goblin, SK720 / TREX 450 Sport FBL SK720
TREX 600 3G, CPii
MSR / mCPX brushless/YAK / McFoamy
teb1963 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 08:51 AM   #11
Timtreo
Registered Users
 
Posts: 598
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Pennsylvania Warminster
Default

I learned my lesson. I trusted the throttle hold doing some setup and acccidently reversed the throttle in the tx. The heli went full speed (even with the throttle hold on) and slid across the table and hit an empty water glass. The glass just exploded and there was tiny pieces of glass on every inch of my apartment. I always disconnect the motor wires now when doing any kind of setup...
Timtreo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 12:58 AM   #12
slowflow
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Heathcote NSW
Default

I disconnect the ESC from the receiver and use a battery pack to drive the servos for setup.
slowflow is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 02:51 AM   #13
ruku56021
Registered Users
 
Posts: 143
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Default

+1 Disconnect the ESC/Motor or you can also take the blades off. Also with Futaba in the 'Servo' monitor screen be careful when setting the servos to 'neutral' as this also pegs the throttle at half stick.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Trex 600E PRO
vbar 5.3
| Trex 600 LE 3G
| 100X
FUTABA 8FGH 2.4GHZ -ルカ-
ruku56021 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 03:18 PM   #14
ARM_Coder
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,322
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: S„o Paulo, Brazil
Default

I've started a 450 heli by accident once on the workbench, blades on.

Fortunately the soft start was very soft, and I've cut the motor fast enough to prevent damages and injuries.

Now I always unplug 2 wires from the motor (unplugging only one will prevent the motor from spinning, but may fry the ESC).

Cheers!
__________________
All Flash sectors accounted for. FSMC is ready.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Compass 7HV /Atom 5.5 / Warp 360 / DX8
ARM_Coder is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 12:15 AM   #15
TaterTot
Registered Users
 
Posts: 321
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Memphis, TN
Default

My Walkera 2801Pro Tx will not let me turn on the radio with the TH on.... So that has caused me to not rely on it as much...
__________________
DJI F550 E300 w/ Naza-M v2 - Build in Progress
Tarot 450 Pro V2 FBL - Still Learning
Blade mCP X (BL w/HP-05 S) - My "Sim"
Syma S107G - Yellow Toy
TaterTot is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 08:59 AM   #16
BaconRaygun
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,352
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Default

Pretty sure no radio will.... you flip into TH after you turn the radio on, and before you power up your heli.
__________________
~SAB~ Goblin 700 ~Compass~ Warp 360 ~Blade~ mCP X (BL)
AMA# 977012
**Team BOCA Bearings**
BaconRaygun is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 11:52 AM   #17
TaterTot
Registered Users
 
Posts: 321
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Memphis, TN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vicovaludemero View Post
Pretty sure no radio will.... you flip into TH after you turn the radio on, and before you power up your heli.
Ahh good to know. I just thought it was odd. Doesn't that seem counter intuitive? It's like having to cock a gun before you can turn on the safety... Sure there are ones out there like that, but I don't like it...
__________________
DJI F550 E300 w/ Naza-M v2 - Build in Progress
Tarot 450 Pro V2 FBL - Still Learning
Blade mCP X (BL w/HP-05 S) - My "Sim"
Syma S107G - Yellow Toy
TaterTot is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 03:02 PM   #18
BaconRaygun
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,352
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Default

LOL yeh man it really is.... I get it for the other switches, but not TH.
__________________
~SAB~ Goblin 700 ~Compass~ Warp 360 ~Blade~ mCP X (BL)
AMA# 977012
**Team BOCA Bearings**
BaconRaygun is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 09:12 AM   #19
Commodore8888
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,744
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rockville, Maryland
Default

Im guilty of using th to work on my e helis, however all my escs (castle) have slow start as well as not arming unless I bring the throttle stick down to the arm pwm. Any more intensive work besides just tweaking the beastx either gets an rx pack, motor wires pulled, or a 1s pack connected(blades spin extremely slow or not at all). Any other esc that either didn't have the castle type features or I was unfamiliar with had the motor wires pulled.
__________________
"Resident Mad Scientist"
E5-S KDE 600XF / N7 1.20SRX
450 Pro V3 / Mod 130x / mCPX BL/ iKon Powered Crack Yak

Mike D--Team Synergy/AwesomeRC Hobbies
Commodore8888 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 09:10 AM   #20
kumar2494
Registered Users
 
Posts: 612
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Default

I ony work on my 450 with th hold on. Since i have it on soft start, I figure I will have time to either get away from it, or grab the tx. I wont work on my 600n or whiplash with th hold on.
__________________
Team KDE Motors
Team Xpert Servos
Team Cyclone Blades

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kumar2494 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > RC Helicopter Flight School


RC Helicopter Flight School Instructional Flying Tips, Tricks, Videos, and Q&A

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com