Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > YGE


YGE YGE ESC Support and Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2012, 02:34 AM   #1
helicraze
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,240
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Victoria, Australia
Default YGE Gov vbar settings?

For a 700E with 4530LE motor and yge vbar gov mode are the stock settings in vbar for electric ok??? Any recommendations? I heard the dynamic is only really for nitros
helicraze is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 06:19 AM   #2
augur
Registered Users
 
Posts: 189
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Germany
Default

Hi.

For some others and me this setup works not well. Actually I am in discussion with Mikado and YGE to investigate what is the reason for that behaviour. Did you fly the heli already? Would be nice to get another impression.

Suggestions: increase gain to 35-40 and collective add to 30.

Cheers
Nils
augur is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 01:40 PM   #3
helicraze
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,240
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Victoria, Australia
Default

Hi think thats motor start/stop value wrong.

Have not flown it yet
helicraze is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 06:05 PM   #4
joe1l
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,048
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Long Valley, NJ USA
Default

I have found that when using external govs like vbar that my motors work better with slightly lower timing and slightly higher pwn. I believe this has alot to do with the aggressive nature of plane fast. The other important thing i found is programming your endpoints so that they calibrate at minimum of 100/100 to 105/105... This helps increase throttle resolution for more linear soft starts. I have been doing this recently and have found that soft start is much better this way.
__________________
Gaui X7 MSH Brain YGE160HV Xera4035-480 X475 FES MSH Brain YGE120 Xera4020 Gaui X5 MSH Brain YGE90HV Xera 4025
Gaui X6 vbar silver 5.3 YGE120HV 700mx
ElektroRC.com field rep (YGE, MSH, LAHeli)
joe1l is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 08:40 AM   #5
alexmit
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,441
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe1l View Post
I have found that when using external govs like vbar that my motors work better with slightly lower timing and slightly higher pwn. I believe this has alot to do with the aggressive nature of plane fast. The other important thing i found is programming your endpoints so that they calibrate at minimum of 100/100 to 105/105... This helps increase throttle resolution for more linear soft starts. I have been doing this recently and have found that soft start is much better this way.
Are you talking about doing this in the radio so the vBar transmitter trims show 105/105? Or just straight 105/105 in the radio regardless? Please elaborate, my startup is OK... but it could be softer as I understand some are seeing Kontronik-like startups.

I'd also like to know what lead you to the conclusion that lower timing and higher PWM performs better. Increased power, better gov, lower temps?
__________________
Atlanta RC Club, The only club inside the city.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
SAB USA Team Pilot/Field Rep. Canomod USA Field Rep. Pulse Battery USA Field Rep.
alexmit is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 11:22 AM   #6
velocity90
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,225
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by augur View Post
Hi.

For some others and me this setup works not well. Actually I am in discussion with Mikado and YGE to investigate what is the reason for that behaviour. Did you fly the heli already? Would be nice to get another impression.

Suggestions: increase gain to 35-40 and collective add to 30.

Cheers
Nils
Heej, me 2, havent heard for 4 days now everything works great accept the Bailout and the softstart could be softer.

Scorpion you will get good results with pwm 12 and timing 18. I dont know where scorpion gets the 5 degrees from, it works with there own esc but deff not the yge.
__________________
Gaui X7-vbar-mks950-980-Jeti Mezon 135 rpm-PD4530YY/Voodoo 600 -PD-MX700-470kv--BLS255hv-VBAR 5.3+
Hobbymaniac Teampilot
velocity90 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 03:28 PM   #7
Rob Cherry
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,171
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe1l View Post
I have found that when using external govs like vbar that my motors work better with slightly lower timing and slightly higher pwn. I believe this has alot to do with the aggressive nature of plane fast. The other important thing i found is programming your endpoints so that they calibrate at minimum of 100/100 to 105/105... This helps increase throttle resolution for more linear soft starts. I have been doing this recently and have found that soft start is much better this way.
Nice tip! The vbar motor start/stop slider resolution is horrible, increments of 2.
__________________
E7 | E5S | E5
Team Synergy | Gens Ace | Scorpion Motors | Progressive RC | Anything Heli
Rob Cherry is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 10:52 AM   #8
alexmit
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,441
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe1l View Post
I have found that when using external govs like vbar that my motors work better with slightly lower timing and slightly higher pwn. I believe this has alot to do with the aggressive nature of plane fast. The other important thing i found is programming your endpoints so that they calibrate at minimum of 100/100 to 105/105... This helps increase throttle resolution for more linear soft starts. I have been doing this recently and have found that soft start is much better this way.
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexmit View Post
Are you talking about doing this in the radio so the vBar transmitter trims show 105/105? Or just straight 105/105 in the radio regardless? Please elaborate, my startup is OK... but it could be softer as I understand some are seeing Kontronik-like startups.

I'd also like to know what lead you to the conclusion that lower timing and higher PWM performs better. Increased power, better gov, lower temps?
I still don't understand where you are setting your 100/100 or 105/105. In radio, or in vbar software? Could you please elaborate on where and how you are getting this?
__________________
Atlanta RC Club, The only club inside the city.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
SAB USA Team Pilot/Field Rep. Canomod USA Field Rep. Pulse Battery USA Field Rep.
alexmit is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 03:12 PM   #9
Rob Cherry
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,171
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexmit View Post
I still don't understand where you are setting your 100/100 or 105/105. In radio, or in vbar software? Could you please elaborate on where and how you are getting this?
Set in vbar first, I set to -120 and +120 on the sliders. That gives a lot of resolution for the governor, most importantly the stop value needed for fine tuning the soft start. Then enable collective to esc in the Gov2 tab. Then program your stop and full points in the YGE progcard based on those new end points in vbar. Then go back and tweak the vbar gov stop value to get a nice soft start.

I managed to get a soft start that is perfect. It's quick, but doesn't even twitch the tail. The stop value will need to be changed if you change the spoolup speed. I have my spoolup set to 5 on my X7, default of 3 is just way too slow. I have it set to 7 on my X5.
__________________
E7 | E5S | E5
Team Synergy | Gens Ace | Scorpion Motors | Progressive RC | Anything Heli
Rob Cherry is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 06:12 PM   #10
Mystic3D
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,462
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas
Default

Quote:
=Rob Cherry;3664712]Set in vbar first, I set to -120 and +120 on the sliders. That gives a lot of resolution for the governor, most importantly the stop value needed for fine tuning the soft start. Then enable collective to esc in the Gov2 tab. Then program your stop and full points in the YGE progcard based on those new end points in vbar. Then go back and tweak the vbar gov stop value to get a nice soft start.
The -120 and +120 in VBar under Setup>Tx Throttle or -120 and + 120 for Motor Stop and Motor Stop?

Sorry but I do not understand how either works? Reason is as soon as you enable Collective to ESC the VBar is now outputting the Pitch Channel to the ESC to set
ESC Motor Stop and ESC Motor Full.
__________________
"If you think you can or you can not you are right"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Goblin Xera 4530, YGE 160,VBar
Trex 700E, YGE 120HV,, Xera 4035/,8917/ VBar
Diablo, HJive, 4525 Ultimate,VBar
Mystic3D is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 06:03 AM   #11
helicraze
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,240
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Victoria, Australia
Default

The yge initially always is abrupt for the first .2 sec then its smooth.

I tried many things and always the same start behaviour
helicraze is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 08:19 AM   #12
Mystic3D
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,462
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by helicraze View Post
The yge initially always is abrupt for the first .2 sec then its smooth.

I tried many things and always the same start behaviour
What motor?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
"If you think you can or you can not you are right"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Goblin Xera 4530, YGE 160,VBar
Trex 700E, YGE 120HV,, Xera 4035/,8917/ VBar
Diablo, HJive, 4525 Ultimate,VBar
Mystic3D is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 09:05 AM   #13
gmarsden
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto
Default

My 120HV also starts with a pretty good jerk, doesn't seem to matter if startup is set to auto, 2% or 4%. Spoolup is smooth after the initial impulse. Getting the blades started by hand seems to help.

Scorpion 4035-500.
gmarsden is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 09:25 AM   #14
Mystic3D
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,462
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gmarsden View Post
My 120HV also starts with a pretty good jerk, doesn't seem to matter if startup is set to auto, 2% or 4%. Spoolup is smooth after the initial impulse. Getting the blades started by hand seems to help.

Scorpion 4035-500.
With VBar Gov, Motor Stop is the key to getting it right.
Same here startup power does not make much difference in the initial kick.
__________________
"If you think you can or you can not you are right"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Goblin Xera 4530, YGE 160,VBar
Trex 700E, YGE 120HV,, Xera 4035/,8917/ VBar
Diablo, HJive, 4525 Ultimate,VBar
Mystic3D is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 02:58 PM   #15
alexmit
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,441
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystic3D View Post
The -120 and +120 in VBar under Setup>Tx Throttle or -120 and + 120 for Motor Stop and Motor Stop?

Sorry but I do not understand how either works? Reason is as soon as you enable Collective to ESC the VBar is now outputting the Pitch Channel to the ESC to set
ESC Motor Stop and ESC Motor Full.
I was about to say the same thing and still wonder about this. I'd love to see a softer start and it sounds like he might just have the key. screenshots would be helpful.
__________________
Atlanta RC Club, The only club inside the city.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
SAB USA Team Pilot/Field Rep. Canomod USA Field Rep. Pulse Battery USA Field Rep.
alexmit is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 05:17 PM   #16
Mystic3D
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,462
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexmit View Post
I was about to say the same thing and still wonder about this. I'd love to see a softer start and it sounds like he might just have the key. screenshots would be helpful.
A given set of values in VBar Motor Stop/Motor Full is not the solution, so my values with my Xera 4035 480 will not make you motor spool up smooth.
Each motor is going to start at a different value.

Follow the process I wrote in VBar Instructions Ver. 3, it works.
http://helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=339471&page=3
__________________
"If you think you can or you can not you are right"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Goblin Xera 4530, YGE 160,VBar
Trex 700E, YGE 120HV,, Xera 4035/,8917/ VBar
Diablo, HJive, 4525 Ultimate,VBar
Mystic3D is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 09:09 AM   #17
alexmit
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,441
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystic3D View Post
A given set of values in VBar Motor Stop/Motor Full is not the solution, so my values with my Xera 4035 480 will not make you motor spool up smooth.
Each motor is going to start at a different value.

Follow the process I wrote in VBar Instructions Ver. 3, it works.
http://helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=339471&page=3
I understand that each setup is different. I did follow your setup and the startup is still a little bit jerky for my taste. I've seen some YGE with vBar videos on youtube that spool up like a kontronik. I certainly thank you for posting the setup instructions as I don't think I would have a working setup at all without your assistance.

I'm still trying to figure out what he is doing to get to his result as he only references "sliders", and that could be the transmitter trim tab, or the gov II tab. Another point you mentioned, when flipping into collective control it uses those values instead of throttle. So that makes his statement about the sliders even more puzzling. I just wanted to understand what he was referencing and hope for some screen shots or an in-depth explanation.
__________________
Atlanta RC Club, The only club inside the city.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
SAB USA Team Pilot/Field Rep. Canomod USA Field Rep. Pulse Battery USA Field Rep.
alexmit is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 09:33 AM   #18
Mystic3D
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,462
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas
Default

Joe1 and i talked about giving the th channel "more resolution". As it helped his setup, but I have not tried.
1. In VBar Setup>Tx use your radio to set Th endpoints to -105 +105
2. Turn off Gov
3. Rebind
4. Follow instructions , but replace above for the collective control section.

Basically you would be setting ESC endpoints to -105,+105 Your VBar motor stop and full would end up with higher values ~ +5


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
"If you think you can or you can not you are right"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Goblin Xera 4530, YGE 160,VBar
Trex 700E, YGE 120HV,, Xera 4035/,8917/ VBar
Diablo, HJive, 4525 Ultimate,VBar
Mystic3D is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 10:01 AM   #19
joe1l
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,048
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Long Valley, NJ USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystic3D View Post
Joe1 and i talked about giving the th channel "more resolution". As it helped his setup, but I have not tried.
1. In VBar Setup>Tx use your radio to set Th endpoints to -105 +105
2. Turn off Gov
3. Rebind
4. Follow instructions , but replace above for the collective control section.

Basically you would be setting ESC endpoints to -105,+105 Your VBar motor stop and full would end up with higher values ~ +5


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
If you have an abrupt spool up, try extending your endpoints...so far it seems to working excellent for me. To do this effectively you need to set your startup power to Auto! If you are using 2% it will not work. I find that with my Futaba 8FG programming at 100/100 usually calibrates to 92 -94 for low end to 98 -100 on the high. I now program with an offset to allow equal high and low. Hence if -100/100 gave me -92 /98 , i would program with -108/102 .....which calibrates to perfect 100/100. I have found that this alone has given me excellent results with my 12s motors compared to 92 or 94 on the low.....i have gone as far as 112/112...showing even smoother soft starts and letting me use slightly higher gov gains.

For anyone using an older pre-phase sensor YGE with Vbar gov...this will help alot. I did this with my older YGE100LV on my Vbar gov...extending the endpoints to 105/105 which not only resutled in slower soft-start but also allowed me to use higher gov gains! I flew it this weekend with new endpoints and very happy with the way it flew compared to original 94/98 endpoints.
__________________
Gaui X7 MSH Brain YGE160HV Xera4035-480 X475 FES MSH Brain YGE120 Xera4020 Gaui X5 MSH Brain YGE90HV Xera 4025
Gaui X6 vbar silver 5.3 YGE120HV 700mx
ElektroRC.com field rep (YGE, MSH, LAHeli)
joe1l is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 11:46 AM   #20
alexmit
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,441
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe1l View Post
If you have an abrupt spool up, try extending your endpoints...so far it seems to working excellent for me.
I want to thank both you and Mystic for demystifying this for me. I'm pretty sure I get it now and like your added comments about offsetting. I was reading over in the Logo XXtreme forum that they are running the YGE 160 with the Brake on. I'm not sure why that would be, but MrMel is saying it won't work right without it. Now I'm curious if that would be true for all YGE ESCs.
__________________
Atlanta RC Club, The only club inside the city.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
SAB USA Team Pilot/Field Rep. Canomod USA Field Rep. Pulse Battery USA Field Rep.
alexmit is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > YGE


YGE YGE ESC Support and Discussion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com