Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 700 Class Electric Helicopters


700 Class Electric Helicopters 700 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2011, 11:08 PM   #1
FlyinRyan
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: brea california
Default HIT a WIREing roadblock

GRRR. I slaved to get this thing together right and now Im at a wall..
Im running a dx8 on a 700e v2 3gx. But I cant get my electronics to work, or even reciever to bind. I have a bec pro set up like this http://www.castlecreations.com/suppo...stallation.pdf as well as the esc. Ive ran all the servo's to the 3gx unit. and from the 3gx unit to my ar8000. now no matter where i plug my bec out too nothing works. the esc is gettin power, but ive tried pluggin into the 3gx unit and nothing. Any suggestions?
FlyinRyan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 11:22 PM   #2
Skyjacker07
Registered Users
 
Posts: 733
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Default

I've made the mistake of having the plugs in the receiver backwards, so nothing else was coming on figured it out turned them around and all went to work like it was suppose to.
Skyjacker07 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 11:48 PM   #3
FlyinRyan
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: brea california
Default

I so wish that was the case.. but I cant even get the 3gx unit to power up
FlyinRyan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 11:59 PM   #4
350Z_Al
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,216
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Default

Do you have power from the bec to the 3GX AND the RX?
__________________
Align 450 PRO DFC 4S KDE 450XF // Blade 450X 450MX, 3GX, Savox // Align 450 Sport V2 Airwolf
Align 600EFL PRO, DFC, 3GX, KDE
Align CHP DL 800, XERA 4530LE, ICE160HV, AR7200BX, SB-2271MG, SB-2272SG, KDE, Lynx, 115s
Thunder Power 65C LiPo & JR 12X
350Z_Al is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:02 AM   #5
FlyinRyan
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: brea california
Default

yes. the bec is lit up with power. Ive plugged it into the 3gx and nothing. only time i can get anything is if i unplug the thro from the ar8000 and plut the bec into it. Im stumped! Did i get a bad 3gx? Im soo frusterated I'm about to rip my beastx off my 500. but it flys sooooooooo perfect I dont want to ruin it.
FlyinRyan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:03 AM   #6
FlyinRyan
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: brea california
Default

The other thing im confused on is my bec pro has to power plugs that come off of it.
FlyinRyan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:33 AM   #7
FlyinRyan
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: brea california
Default

K little update. Got power to reciever and 3gx, had the dam plug from the bec in wrong as well as from the 3gx to the ar8000.. problem fixed. howerver. Now I get redlights on 3gx. the reciever is bound to the tx but no servo movements or motor.. Nothing works.. I'm so close I can taste it.
FlyinRyan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:43 AM   #8
Skyjacker07
Registered Users
 
Posts: 733
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Default

Are the plugs on the 3gx in the correct way?
Skyjacker07 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:45 AM   #9
FlyinRyan
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: brea california
Default

yes... am i soposed to set the 3gx up on the computer first? because i would have thought the servos would atleast move
FlyinRyan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 12:59 AM   #10
spikestabber
Registered Users
 
Posts: 569
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Default

I see you're using a separate AR8000, you have any reasons to do so?

Spektrum satellites can plug straight into the 3GX eliminating the need for a receiver box at all, not sure if you're aware of that.
__________________
T-REX 450P DFC 6S, SK-720BE/GPS, EDGE 50, TM1000, KDE 450XF 1450, MKS DS95x3, Futaba BLS-257, DX8
T-REX 700E DFC, SK-720BE/GPS, EDGE 160HV, TM1000, KDE 700XF 495, Outrage BL9180x3/BL9188, DX8

spikestabber is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 01:03 AM   #11
FlyinRyan
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: brea california
Default

I am, but im working with all ive got. For some reason I cant get it to work though lol
FlyinRyan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 01:09 PM   #12
ShaneJourdan
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,021
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sandy, Oregon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyinRyan View Post
The other thing im confused on is my bec pro has to power plugs that come off of it.
FlyingRyan,

Because of the rather big demand of the servo bus it is advisable to have 2 power inputs to spread the load. This is why there are two power leads. This way you don't brown out or overheat your servos.
__________________
Goblin 700 - XF495 KDE - HC3SX - CC160
Trex 700 - 700 MX - HC3SX - CC120
Blade 450X - Scorpion 2221-6 - BD3sx -CC 50
Trex 250 - BD3sx - Talon 35 - DS95i
ShaneJourdan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 02:14 PM   #13
FlyinRyan
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: brea california
Default

so would I run the other lead to aux 2 or aux 3 on the ar8000? and 1 to the 3gx?
FlyinRyan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 02:37 PM   #14
ShaneJourdan
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,021
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sandy, Oregon
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyinRyan View Post
so would I run the other lead to aux 2 or aux 3 on the ar8000? and 1 to the 3gx?
I think you could with out issue, any open port should work. I would ditch the AR for satellites if you can....
__________________
Goblin 700 - XF495 KDE - HC3SX - CC160
Trex 700 - 700 MX - HC3SX - CC120
Blade 450X - Scorpion 2221-6 - BD3sx -CC 50
Trex 250 - BD3sx - Talon 35 - DS95i
ShaneJourdan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 05:45 AM   #15
Chris_M
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Default

Run one bec input to your rx and the other to the 3gx. As for all lights blinking red on the 3gx it sounds like it isnt bound properly and not getting a signal. I have a 3gx running off sats but never set one up with a separate rx. I agree that if you dont need the rx for a specific reason just do away with it and run sats instead.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Chris_M is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 08:04 PM   #16
Ranc68
Registered Users
 
Posts: 75
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Perkins,Ga
Default

This may be a dumb suggestion but...... in the servo reverse menu, is the throttle in norm or reverse?
__________________
Kenny Griffis
T-rex 450 V2 SE
Compass Knight 3D
T-Rex 700E / BeastX
Ranc68 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 09:45 PM   #17
FlyinRyan
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: brea california
Default

Not a dumb question at all, the thro however was not reversed. But I think I realized the problem last night as I was laying in bed lol. Thro trim was not set to zero My guess is that was the problem. However it's not as important now because I scrapped the 3gx idea and just installed a beastx.... Works like a champ lol
FlyinRyan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 11:07 AM   #18
kumar2494
Registered Users
 
Posts: 501
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Default

make sure only the bind plug is the only thing plugged in. the servos should be unplugged but your esc or bec can be plugged in to supply power during the binding process
__________________
TEAM AVANT RC - Field Rep

"Jack Frost"
kumar2494 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 700 Class Electric Helicopters


700 Class Electric Helicopters 700 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com