Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > DJI Heli Autopilot System(Naza-H/WooKong-H/Ace One)


DJI Heli Autopilot System(Naza-H/WooKong-H/Ace One) DJI Heli Autopilot System(Naza-H/WooKong-H/Ace One) Factory Support Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2012, 03:32 PM   #41
Cirkus
Registered Users
 
Posts: 971
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Yuma, AZ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jperkosk View Post
Waypoint programming, methinks...
Neither has waypoint capability though...
__________________
FlightCam
http://ryanbarnes.smugmug.com/
Cirkus is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 04:43 PM   #42
zeeflyboy
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK/Switzerland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cirkus View Post
It seems like the smart thing for DJI to do would to put the altitude limit on the Naza-H and remove the altitude limit on the WKH. That would build the value into the WKH and justify the higher price. Also, the Naza-H may not (I'm not sure) have a barometer built in to provide altitude hold, it may just count on stick position or GPS to hold altitude close but not as exact as the WKH. I'm sure the details will come out soon, but I hope something shows me why my WKH costs so much more.
Goodness sake don't start saying things like that... someone might be listening!

The smart thing to do imo would be not to slap arbitrary and pointless limitations on hardware just for the sake of it... on any of their products. Let the hardware speak for itself.

It's one thing to charge more for additional features such as waypoints etc, it's another entirely to artificially limit an included feature and I find it mind boggling that they do so on the wookong.... let's not encourage more of that undesirable behaviour!

If there's one thing I can't stand it's intentionally gimped software just to preserve the market for the supposedly "more advanced" unit.... if the more advanced unit is actually worth more then it should be made using higher end components that yield better results, not more expensive components that can be matched or beaten by the cheaper hardware unless they impose artificial limits to restrict it.

Let's be honest here as well, look at the success of the Naza-M. On some FPV forums the thing is just used everywhere.... it's been a huge success for DJI and I'd wager they've made more money on the lower margin higher volume Naza-M than on the considerably more expensive but somewhat more niche Wookong-M.

I would hope that DJI see this as indicative that providing good hardware and good features at a good price point is just as important to their bottom line as providing the higher end stuff at a higher price point.

Oh and just FYI the Naza-H does have an internal barometer, it's in the specs (just like the Naza-M too).
__________________
Blade mCP X - Brushless, XP-7A, HP05S
Gaui X2, BeastX/Scorpion 3400kv/YGE-30A/GS-093/DS95i
Align AH-1 Cobra (T-Rex 500)
Align T-Rex 600 EFL Pro, SK720/600MX/YGE-90HV/BL9180/BL9188
zeeflyboy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 07:52 PM   #43
R_Lefebvre
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Default

Quote:
It's one thing to charge more for additional features such as waypoints etc, it's another entirely to artificially limit an included feature and I find it mind boggling that they do so on the wookong.... let's not encourage more of that undesirable behaviour!
Yeah, it is incredibly ridiculous that they do this. I had no idea about this Wookong-H altitude limit. These features have NO COST. You should vote with your wallets.
__________________
-Rob

Ardupilot/Arducopter Developer
R_Lefebvre is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 07:55 PM   #44
RCTada
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,993
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Aiken, SC
Default

Does this require black tape so the sun dont affect the controller?

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
RCTada is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 09:11 PM   #45
martin_
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Default

From the descritpion of the all-in-one combo it looks like it have RTH function.

Here is a quote; ........ This all in one combo includes the Haza H auto pilot flight control system along with the GPS module for position hold, fail safe and return to home functions. Save over $44 with this combo.
__________________
T-rex 600E pro
T-rex 450L
Coaxial Collective Pitch 550
martin_ is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 11:08 PM   #46
zeeflyboy
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK/Switzerland
Default

Where are you seeing that?

Unfortunately I'm not especially optimistic, given the intelligent failsafe section only mentions hovering.
__________________
Blade mCP X - Brushless, XP-7A, HP05S
Gaui X2, BeastX/Scorpion 3400kv/YGE-30A/GS-093/DS95i
Align AH-1 Cobra (T-Rex 500)
Align T-Rex 600 EFL Pro, SK720/600MX/YGE-90HV/BL9180/BL9188
zeeflyboy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 07:20 AM   #47
martin_
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Default

Here; http://www.atlantahobby.com/Store/pc...idcategory=942
__________________
T-rex 600E pro
T-rex 450L
Coaxial Collective Pitch 550
martin_ is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 11:03 AM   #48
zeeflyboy
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK/Switzerland
Default

I reckon that's just a mistake on atlanta's part
__________________
Blade mCP X - Brushless, XP-7A, HP05S
Gaui X2, BeastX/Scorpion 3400kv/YGE-30A/GS-093/DS95i
Align AH-1 Cobra (T-Rex 500)
Align T-Rex 600 EFL Pro, SK720/600MX/YGE-90HV/BL9180/BL9188
zeeflyboy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 01:19 PM   #49
jperkosk
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,957
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Luis Potosí, México
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeeflyboy View Post
I reckon that's just a mistake on atlanta's part
Why? Naza-M GPS combo runs $400, so $460 for Naza-H GPS combo seems fair to me.
__________________
Jerry
Trex 700N Pro fbl, 600N Pro x 2, 450SE v1, 250 v2 fbl, Compass 6HV fbl, Blade 450x, 400, 300x, 130x, mCPx, 120SR, mQx, mSR, Rotor Concepts HPQ1, Walkera CB180Q, CB100, Novus FP, CP, Esky Hunter, Big Lama.
jperkosk is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 03:14 PM   #50
zeeflyboy
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK/Switzerland
Default

Not the price, the RTH.

Given its not mentioned anywhere on DJI's own page or in globeflight.de I think the reference to RTH may be a mistake on atlanta's behalf.

Would love to be wrong however.
__________________
Blade mCP X - Brushless, XP-7A, HP05S
Gaui X2, BeastX/Scorpion 3400kv/YGE-30A/GS-093/DS95i
Align AH-1 Cobra (T-Rex 500)
Align T-Rex 600 EFL Pro, SK720/600MX/YGE-90HV/BL9180/BL9188
zeeflyboy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 03:49 PM   #51
badfrog
HF Support
 
Posts: 3,639
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Portland, Tennessee, US
Default

Any one know if the Naza-m GPS and the Naza-h GPS antenna are the same? Would be nice to be swappable!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Team "Wife" sponsored pilot... Thanks Baby!!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
badfrog is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 03:50 PM   #52
n6nev
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,913
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Torrance Calif
Default

I just recieved a email from Atlanta Hobby and it stated that RTH is included...,with GPS .............
__________________
2 DJI 550 , both with naza, fatshark, ET OSD "You can always tell a pilot,but not much"

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
n6nev is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 02:19 AM   #53
JOSEPHIN
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dubai
Default

Anyone instal Naza-h GPS on Heli?

Please pictures and information!!!


Is good that for fly in city top of the cars?

JOSEPHIN is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 03:25 AM   #54
Trirota
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Germany
Default

In Germany RTH will be not included, and it's not planned to do so.

Trirota

Last edited by Trirota; 11-18-2012 at 06:01 AM..
Trirota is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 05:39 PM   #55
P.I.Engineer
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,608
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Default

you need the gps antenna for rth.

I have a naza-m, I'm sure this thing works in the same manner.

manual mode: just a regular flybarless controller
atti mode: turns on the accels, turns the heli more to a coax heli.

add GPS:
GPS mode: position hold, rth, semi auto take off land.
__________________
Compass 7HV(ikon); Gaui X3(ikon)
TX: Fr-Sky Taranis

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
P.I.Engineer is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 06:12 PM   #56
zeeflyboy
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK/Switzerland
Default

Except nowhere does it say RTH except at Atlanta hobby... DJI's own website doesn't include it.

The Wookong-M has RTH, the Wookong-H doesn't... Just because the Naza-M has it, it doesn't automatically follow that the Naza-H does.

Like I say, I hope I'm wrong. However if anyone is buying it based on the fact it has RTH I would strongly advise trying to confirm it with either Atlanta or DJI first.
__________________
Blade mCP X - Brushless, XP-7A, HP05S
Gaui X2, BeastX/Scorpion 3400kv/YGE-30A/GS-093/DS95i
Align AH-1 Cobra (T-Rex 500)
Align T-Rex 600 EFL Pro, SK720/600MX/YGE-90HV/BL9180/BL9188
zeeflyboy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 05:15 AM   #57
Ivor Hill
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Plymouth devon UK
Default

You are correct it is not going to have RTH. The specs for the WK-M and Naza M both say RTH. The specs for the WK-H and Naza H both say failsafe hover.
Without RTH personally I think the Align is a better buy. I have 2 Naza-M,s and I am very pleased with them but will not be ordering the Naza-H unless is has RTH.
Perhaps they will add it if sales are bad or are planning to add it at a later date at additional cost. The hardware is there so it is only updated software that would be needed.
Ivor Hill is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 06:40 AM   #58
zeeflyboy
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK/Switzerland
Default

I emailed DJI to confirm, and also express my disappointment if it isn't included... We'll see what they say.

I suggest anyone who wants RTH do the same... Perhaps if they get enough requests it'll be added. Then again they must have had thousands of requests to remove the stupid altitude limit on Wookong-H GPS and they haven't done anything about it.
__________________
Blade mCP X - Brushless, XP-7A, HP05S
Gaui X2, BeastX/Scorpion 3400kv/YGE-30A/GS-093/DS95i
Align AH-1 Cobra (T-Rex 500)
Align T-Rex 600 EFL Pro, SK720/600MX/YGE-90HV/BL9180/BL9188
zeeflyboy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 07:15 AM   #59
distructor
Registered Users
 
Posts: 782
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JOSEPHIN View Post

Is good that for fly in city top of the cars?

I would hate to see people use NAZA-H GPS as a way to fly in a less safe location or manor. AMA recommends a 100 foot spectator line for good reason. I don't believe NAZA-H GPS will change that.


Crash expert.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Takeoff is optional, landing is mandatory.
B450x+HC3SX, Protos 500 stretched+HC3SX, Century E640 stretched +HC3SX. MingDa MD8 + YGE 160HV+ KDE 395kv + BD3SX.
distructor is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 12:17 AM   #60
oldie1
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NZ
Default

One thing it does not do is run with a twin shaft turbine
oldie1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > DJI Heli Autopilot System(Naza-H/WooKong-H/Ace One)


DJI Heli Autopilot System(Naza-H/WooKong-H/Ace One) DJI Heli Autopilot System(Naza-H/WooKong-H/Ace One) Factory Support Forum

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com