Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Thunder Tiger GT5 FBL System


Thunder Tiger GT5 FBL System Thunder Tiger GT5 Flybarless Electronics


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2012, 08:58 AM   #1
WessCo
Registered Users
 
Posts: 591
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Summerville, GA
Default Discontinued

Why has the GT 5 been discontinued? Got mine about 5 weeks ago. Any TT reps know anything? Upgrades?
WessCo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 09:45 AM   #2
Lowest
Registered Users
 
Posts: 130
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: uk
Default

because gt5.1 is here?
http://www.fast-lad.co.uk/store/thun...8-p-20509.html
__________________
HIGH VOLTAGE
Lowest is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 09:45 AM   #3
don-dadda
Registered Users
 
Posts: 224
 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Default

Probably becuase the new GT 5.1 is about to be released.
__________________
fly big, fly fast, fly hard....
don-dadda is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 11:27 AM   #4
WessCo
Registered Users
 
Posts: 591
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Summerville, GA
Default

Yep, I realize this. Think there will be any form of upgrade for the GT 5 owners?
WessCo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 05:33 AM   #5
donskills
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,201
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WessCo View Post
Yep, I realize this. Think there will be any form of upgrade for the GT 5 owners?
I suspect not, and for this reason TT just lost another customer!!
__________________
Henseleit TDR 2011, Spirit, BLS451/251,G-Mauro 800MX, Kontronik Kosmik 200+Jlog2.6GW, Radix 710FBL, Radix 110 tails.
Goblin500 Custom body, Spirit, RJX FS0391/0521THV, Jeti Mezon 130, SAB mains&Tails
AccuRC, realflight 7, Jeti DS-16.
donskills is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 05:58 AM   #6
Inverse
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,282
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Western Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by donskills View Post
I suspect not, and for this reason TT just lost another customer!!
Why do people in this hobby expect free upgrades for newer tech? It utterly baffles me.
__________________
Compass 3D+ - OS55 Hyper/Hatori/Vbar
Atom 500
Tarot 450 Pro - AR7200BX
Spektrum DX8
Inverse is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 06:06 AM   #7
donskills
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,201
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Default

I see from your signature you fly Vbar, BeastX and MHS Brain, all upgradeable. Available information stated that the GT5 would be upgradable upon its release which turned out to be a lie. I have said nothing about a free upgrade but false advertising is something I do not agree with. Read into that how you will sir!
__________________
Henseleit TDR 2011, Spirit, BLS451/251,G-Mauro 800MX, Kontronik Kosmik 200+Jlog2.6GW, Radix 710FBL, Radix 110 tails.
Goblin500 Custom body, Spirit, RJX FS0391/0521THV, Jeti Mezon 130, SAB mains&Tails
AccuRC, realflight 7, Jeti DS-16.
donskills is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 06:10 AM   #8
almigurt
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Default

That TT guy told me on phone today, that
1. 5.1 is just easier menu+ dsm stuff
2. No changes to pid stuff were made
3. Update will be possible but he didnt know if it could be made by customers itself.
almigurt is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 07:27 AM   #9
donskills
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,201
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Default

That is a nice break to the silence!
__________________
Henseleit TDR 2011, Spirit, BLS451/251,G-Mauro 800MX, Kontronik Kosmik 200+Jlog2.6GW, Radix 710FBL, Radix 110 tails.
Goblin500 Custom body, Spirit, RJX FS0391/0521THV, Jeti Mezon 130, SAB mains&Tails
AccuRC, realflight 7, Jeti DS-16.
donskills is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 07:37 AM   #10
WessCo
Registered Users
 
Posts: 591
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Summerville, GA
Default

And here's what I got:

Dear Wess,

Allow us to clarify something here with this mail. It is true that the GT5 can not be upgraded to GT5.1. However, there is no need to upgrade the GT5 unless you are using the Spectrum satellite system. The only difference between the GT5 and GT5.1 is that we add functions to GT5.1 in order to support Spectrum satellite better. Except this, nothing is different.

Best regards, Customer Service Thunder Tiger Corp
WessCo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 03:16 PM   #11
donskills
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,201
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Default

This sounds a bit like the developer assumes the firmware is perfect. I like my unit but I am not sure I agree that it cannot be improved. This is to me a sign of a somewhat unorthodox attitude towards their customers. Makes me wonder......
__________________
Henseleit TDR 2011, Spirit, BLS451/251,G-Mauro 800MX, Kontronik Kosmik 200+Jlog2.6GW, Radix 710FBL, Radix 110 tails.
Goblin500 Custom body, Spirit, RJX FS0391/0521THV, Jeti Mezon 130, SAB mains&Tails
AccuRC, realflight 7, Jeti DS-16.
donskills is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 05:55 PM   #12
Euwan
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London
Default

Yea I am disappointed also
__________________
Waiting for something special
Euwan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 04:17 AM   #13
TomC
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Default

So if I just bought a bnib G5 fbl system from my lhs should I be returning it and asking for the G5.1?

cheers,
TomC
__________________
Blade nQX,mCPX-BL,450x,500x Bell 222(bd3sx),550x(bd3sx)
TT X50E, 10s, HC3-SX
Ion-x, Actro 32-3, SS, 10:1, PJazz esc, 10s
TomC is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 06:33 AM   #14
WessCo
Registered Users
 
Posts: 591
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Summerville, GA
Default

No, the G-T5 works just fine.
WessCo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 07:17 AM   #15
TomC
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WessCo View Post
No, the G-T5 works just fine.
I'm sure it will work fine but since I use Spektrum and am moving to dsmx I probvably should try to get them to replace this new unit (just picked up last week) with the latest version. Right now I'm a little annoyed that my lhs did not inform me about this new version.

Cheers,
TomC
TomC is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 07:21 AM   #16
WessCo
Registered Users
 
Posts: 591
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Summerville, GA
Default

Doesn't hurt to try to get the newer model.
WessCo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 08:58 PM   #17
lowflyer101
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,679
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inverse View Post
Why do people in this hobby expect free upgrades for newer tech? It utterly baffles me.
the gt5.1 is the same gt5 with new sofware,, so people areally have gt5 , want to try the gt5.1 they buy new damn FBL. the gt5 have no failsafe .....

with beatX , mikado, Align, even the $100 Robird G31 it got free update firmware with govervor ,, you spend once and get update for a better feature free,, not with thunder tiger...

I love my GT5 v1,, but that is ,, i am done with thundertiger.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
lowflyer101 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 10:46 PM   #18
TomC
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Default

+1 to that lowflyer.

Not a very good way to build a loyal user base imho. I also know quite a few guys pretty turned off V-bar's now since Mikado started charging $40-50 for 'pro' updates (gov).

From now on for FBL systems I think I'll be sticking with Beastx (incl Spektrum ar7200bx), Helicommand, and Align 3GX (in a pinch, lol!).

I really like the new-look TT heli's. I just bought a TT50e and a mate bought a TT G4 E720.

Cheers,
TomC
__________________
Blade nQX,mCPX-BL,450x,500x Bell 222(bd3sx),550x(bd3sx)
TT X50E, 10s, HC3-SX
Ion-x, Actro 32-3, SS, 10:1, PJazz esc, 10s
TomC is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 08:07 AM   #19
1004ron
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,285
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Louisville, KY
Default

Out of all my FBL controllers, the flight characteristics of the GT5 V1 is about the best.

I really like the GT5, but would not buy another TT product because of the poor support and development - they must have know about the lack of failsafe and remained silent The setup is more complex.
I like having Rate Mode, which every other FBL controller has - not a deal breaker, put it's on the list of dislikes.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

SAB Goblin 700 - CCHV120 - BEC Pro - AR7200BX - TM1000 / 450 Pro - GT5 - Tarot head / T-Rex 550 V2.1 - CC100 - BEC Pro - AR7200BX - TM1000 /
1004ron is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 12:51 PM   #20
MikeSmith
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA IL Savoy
Default

I bout mine for $85 can't beet that, Just use Futaba and you can't got wrong, O yes I have a CGY750 too
MikeSmith is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Thunder Tiger GT5 FBL System


Thunder Tiger GT5 FBL System Thunder Tiger GT5 Flybarless Electronics

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com