Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Futaba Radios and Electronics > Futaba 14MZ - 12Z


Futaba 14MZ - 12Z Futaba 14MZ and 12Z Help and features Support Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2012, 10:08 PM   #1
Generalx5
Registered Users
 
Posts: 426
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: The Sexy Regions, Vancouver BC or Hong Kong
Default 18mz fetish

Im not kidding, I went to the store yesterday and got my hands on the 18mz... No I didn't buy one, I just played with it. I was blown away.... Current owner of the 8fh is already a great feeling but when I got face to face with the infamous 18mz. I got all orgasmic on it... Today I find myself looking at pictures and videos of the TX. Seriously I'm whoring over it....

$3000 seems like the atomic bomb for the buck. I am motivated to start my own campaign to get enough funds for an 18MZ will anyone support me if I go ahead with my dream projects using the 18mz?
__________________
Mcpx ☆ Blade 130X ☆ T-450 PRO DFC ☆ T-700E HV DFC ☆ WARP 360 ☆ ATOM 550 ☆ RJX X-Tron 500E ☆
☆ Futaba 8FGS + DSM2 Mod ☆
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

☆ FMS Cessna 182 1400mm ☆ Crystall 300 3D Parkfly
Generalx5 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 10:14 PM   #2
DominicD
The Capi
 
Posts: 23,262
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

I recently helped out a fella who brought one to the field. Apparently I was able to fix the problem he was having .... only by sheer luck A very complex radio, that to be honest serves no purpose outside of planks and scale. With FBL units doing the grunt work our radios only need to be 2 gimbles and 2 switches.
__________________
SAB Heli Canada / RotorQuest
Team KBDD

Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 05:14 AM   #3
fr92Furtif
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Puteaux, France
Default

What is complex with the 18 ? I had the impression that things are easier with this radio.

Could not agree more, a Dx7 or a T8J is more than enough for today FBL controllers.
But there may be a big difference between what you need and what you want.


Quote:
Originally Posted by DominicD View Post
...A very complex radio, that to be honest serves no purpose outside of planks and scale. With FBL units doing the grunt work our radios only need to be 2 gimbles and 2 switches.
fr92Furtif is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 08:29 AM   #4
bossee
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sweden
Default

Sooner or later there will be good second hand 18MZ out there. When they will be avaliable second hand for about half new price today I will start looking for one. I use 14MZ today and it can do all I need but the display in sunshine is not good at all and a big negative thing. And no telemetry - one need the external Futaba/Robbe telemetrybox and new reciever then and total cost to get telemetry on FASST radio is just to steep in my opinion. It is however good one can buy that addon to get telemetry (only in Europe so far) if You want it and can pay the rather high price.

/Bo
bossee is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 03:18 PM   #5
lucab617
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA, TX
Default

I just got my 18mz from heliproz about 1 week ago for $2450 with their 13% off sale. Great deal.

Last edited by lucab617; 12-03-2012 at 03:18 PM.. Reason: Edit
lucab617 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 04:43 PM   #6
DominicD
The Capi
 
Posts: 23,262
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fr92Furtif View Post
What is complex with the 18 ? I had the impression that things are easier with this radio.

Could not agree more, a Dx7 or a T8J is more than enough for today FBL controllers.
But there may be a big difference between what you need and what you want.
Try using one, its just over the top complex.
__________________
SAB Heli Canada / RotorQuest
Team KBDD

Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:15 PM   #7
Phaedrus
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,114
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SOCAL - USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DominicD View Post
Try using one, its just over the top complex.
I'm not sure "complex" is the word I would use. It is very powerful and offers a nearly unlimited amount of programming flexibility. May not be need for most helis, especially FBL helis. I fly helis, gliders, scale gliders, and pattern planes. I'm glad to have the power and flexibility.
__________________
AMA Leader Member
Team Futaba
Raptor 90SE/YS91ST - T550E FB - T550E FBL w/CGY-750
Phaedrus is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 01:47 PM   #8
fr92Furtif
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Puteaux, France
Default

Maybe I have my 18MZ for too long now and cannot realize how things maybe be "complex" anymore.

Can you give me an example of something complex with this radio ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DominicD View Post
Try using one, its just over the top complex.
fr92Furtif is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 02:21 PM   #9
DominicD
The Capi
 
Posts: 23,262
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

Not without one sitting in front of me. I have just had to on several occasions help a 18mz or 14mz owner program their radio because they couldn't figure something out. I've had similar situations with most radios, but on most radios I find it easy to find it, this wasnt the case on the big Futabas.
__________________
SAB Heli Canada / RotorQuest
Team KBDD

Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 02:25 PM   #10
Mercuriell
HF Support
 
Posts: 10,871
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: QLD, AUSTRALIA
Default

I agree the 18MZ is easier to program than the 14M or 12Z,the touch features are very quick and easy to use. I do agree with Dom that the number of facilities is way overkill for most uses. Having said that it does have a marvelous feel to the gimbals and battery life is way better than the 12 or 14
__________________
John
Mercuriell is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 02:40 PM   #11
DominicD
The Capi
 
Posts: 23,262
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

I am a big Futaba fan, but i will be the first to admit they arent the most intuitively designed radios. I would love to be have some input on the design and layout of these things, with a radio specifically geared towards the heli market.... but i aint holding my breathe
__________________
SAB Heli Canada / RotorQuest
Team KBDD

Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 04:47 AM   #12
fr92Furtif
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Puteaux, France
Default

It's pity as I was sincerely curious about what would not be simple to do with this radio.
But ok, understood.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DominicD View Post
Not without one sitting in front of me. I have just had to on several occasions help a 18mz or 14mz owner program their radio because they couldn't figure something out. I've had similar situations with most radios, but on most radios I find it easy to find it, this wasnt the case on the big Futabas.
fr92Furtif is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 08:26 AM   #13
Phaedrus
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,114
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SOCAL - USA
Default

I guess I am so familiar with the programming that it does not seem "complex" to me. In that regard it is like riding a bicycle, it is only hard to do until you learn how. As I said above, this is an extremely powerful radio and in a sense you can make it as simple or complex as you want it to be.
__________________
AMA Leader Member
Team Futaba
Raptor 90SE/YS91ST - T550E FB - T550E FBL w/CGY-750
Phaedrus is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 10:58 AM   #14
DominicD
The Capi
 
Posts: 23,262
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

Even my 10CG is overly complex. Some of the things that really bother me about the programming (not isolated to Futaba). Why on earth are the defaults set so the levelers are operational, and why does the radio beep and complain when the TH is off ... it should be the opposite.
__________________
SAB Heli Canada / RotorQuest
Team KBDD

Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DominicD is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 09:56 PM   #15
stevehof
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,352
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oceanside, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DominicD View Post
Try using one, its just over the top complex.
Not if you are already flying a current Futaba transmitter. I setup a guy's DFC 700 and Vbar today on an 18mz and never even looked at the manual. The gimbals on that thing are unreal smooth. That alone is nearly enough to make me consider getting one. It balances on the neck strap without an adapter. The switch locations are closer to my fingers and are user swappable and much much more. There are reasons to consider the 18mz beyond the obvious lack of need for ECCPM mixing of any kind when using FBL...
__________________
Synergy E7, Vbar 5 Pro, BLS255 & 256HV, Hacker Turnado 530 Edition, Rail 716, CC120, WR Sup BEC, Scorp BUG | Trex 450L, Vbar Pro, MKS 8910A+ on tail, Talon 35 | Futaba 18mz
stevehof is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 11:36 AM   #16
wargor
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: midwest
Default

18MZ is a dream to program. I had a JR 10X a long time ago and that is the easiest radio to program ever! I've had futaba since the 9Z (PITA) to program and figure out. The 14 was a great improvement over the 9Z. Since I fly gliders and other planes, the 18 was the way to go. I was too use to the touch screen and ease of the 14 to take a step down. If you are only flying fbl heli's you don't need this radio.
wargor is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 05:08 PM   #17
rctintin
Registered Users
 
Posts: 534
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: England
Default

I am just about to buy one. At the moment I fly with a 12FG, and love the feel of it, but I have big hands, and the switch placement on the shoulders is a pain as to close together. A few weeks ago, a guy who has one set his up with a remote mouse to program it to one of my Helis so I could fly with it. It took all of 6-7min to fully set up by copying all my end points and curves across etc., and it was without doubt the best Tx I have ever had the pleasure of flying with.

Just for the record, I fly Helis, planks, and gliders, and I have owned JR, KO, Spektrum and Futaba Radios, and the 18MZ is miles ahead of anything I have used before it.
__________________
TDR, Diabolo, Synergy N7/E7se/N5cTT, Align 550/2x700e/700n, Gaui X7/NX4, TT Rapter E700, Goblin 700/770, Futaba 18MZ/14SG All on V-Bar's and S-Bus
rctintin is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 07:09 PM   #18
stevehof
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,352
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oceanside, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wargor View Post
If you are only flying fbl heli's you don't need this radio.
Nobody NEEDS this radio...
__________________
Synergy E7, Vbar 5 Pro, BLS255 & 256HV, Hacker Turnado 530 Edition, Rail 716, CC120, WR Sup BEC, Scorp BUG | Trex 450L, Vbar Pro, MKS 8910A+ on tail, Talon 35 | Futaba 18mz
stevehof is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:51 PM   #19
fr92Furtif
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Puteaux, France
Default

Completely agree with that.
But speaking for myself I had to get it. Still trying to understand why

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevehof View Post
Nobody NEEDS this radio...
fr92Furtif is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 04:58 AM   #20
sahmed
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Essex, UK
Default 18MZ pitch and throttle curve help

@ FR92..

Hi, I would welcome any 18MZ step by step instructions to set up my helis:

On my old 10CP radio I have 7 point pitch curve, first I put the throttle to half stick then use a pitch guage to set 0 degrees with the transmitter and then I set full throttle max pitch and low throttle negative pitch and then I would normally smooth out the curve by adjusting the points in between. Can anyone explain how to do this on the 18MZ please?
sahmed is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Futaba Radios and Electronics > Futaba 14MZ - 12Z


Futaba 14MZ - 12Z Futaba 14MZ and 12Z Help and features Support Forum

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com