Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Futaba Radios and Electronics > Futaba 14MZ - 12Z


Futaba 14MZ - 12Z Futaba 14MZ and 12Z Help and features Support Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2013, 03:42 PM   #21
fr92Furtif
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Puteaux, France
Default

Hello,

Sure, if I can help.

1) From main screen, click "Model Menu"
Just for the record :
- "System Menu" is for all parameters related to the radio only (Range check, User name for instance)
- "Linkage Menu" is for all static parameters of the current model (Servo reverse, Sub-trims, ...)
- "Model Menu" is for all parameters than can change from one condition to another.

2) From "Model Menu", click "PIT Curve"

3) To set your 0 pitch, instead of chasing the perfect half stick, you may create two points at 25% and 75% and set 0 pitch on the radio between these two points and then measure you pitch with your pitch gauge. To do so :
3.1) Use the ">" button (lower right) to move the cursor to point -50.0%, then click "Rate", you can now set +0.0%
3.2) Use the ">" button to move the cursor to point +50.0%, then click "Rate", again, set +0.0%.

4) To set lowest pitch :
4.1) With "<<" move the cursor between existing points down to the farthest left point. This point will be at -100.0% position.
4.2) Move the stick down now and set the "Rate" percentage to match the pitch you want.

5) To set highest pitch :
5.1) With ">>" move the cursor between existing points up to the farthest right point. This point will be at +100.0% position.
5.2) Move the stick up and then, set the "Rate" percentage according to the pitch you want.

6) Now, clean the others points to have the intermediate values :
6.1) Use "<<" to go the next left existing point
6.2) Click on "Rate"
6.3) Click on "Delete"
6.4) Repeat 6.1 until you reach the first point.


Now you have a pitch curve that is a simple line between lowest pitch and highest pitch.
If you set different pitch positive and negative, your line will not be at a rate of +0.0% at position 0.0%. To correct this, use 3.1 for instance to create a new point at the center of the line (position 0.0%).

Take care of the condition you are in when you edit anything in "Model Menu". You have one page of model menu per condition if you don't use "group" setting, but that's another story; just take care of the condition when you edit.


Something else that may be useful.
If you are precise enough when you set your swash AFR for mechanical lowest and highest pitches. You can let the radio know them, so afterward you can change your pitch curves without pitch gauge :
7) Go back back to "PIT Curve"
7.1) Click "Angle"
7.2) Then enter your low, center and high mechanical pitchs
7.3) Click "Close"
7.4) Click "Unit"
Now the "Rate" is show as degrees. When you edit your points, you directly edit degrees instead of percentages.
And on the main screen, pitch is also show as degrees instead of percentage.
I you want to go back to percentages, click again "Unit" in "PIT Curves".


Sorry for my bad english.
If anything is not clear, I can do some screenshots. Or people here will be able to help you also.
fr92Furtif is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 05:58 PM   #22
satgod
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,819
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA,KY,Rineyville
Default

I have 4 9z's and i've contenplated buying the 18mz for about 2 months
I just keep telling myself what do I really need it for
there still is nothing my 9z wont do and I fly heli's, 1 quad(for FPV) and a x-8 Wing (for FPV). On the heli's I fly spektrum(LONG story) and on the FPV rigs I fly a Dragon-Link UHF system.
It also bothers me that futaba went away from the module system, it made their radios very flexable.
I know you can adapt any module to the trainer port but its nice to be plug and play.

I have tons of switch options after everything is setup even on the fpv rigs
it does look pretty but I cant find a honest reason to buy it other than, everytime I see it I reach for my wallet
__________________
Rush 750/stretched V-bar KDE 700XF-495 HV servos Greys reactor CC 160-HV
Trex 600EFL V2 V-Bar ds610 ds650 CC bec/pro Scorpion 130a HV KDE 600XF-530
450L KDE 1750 cc50 4xDS215MG k-bar
X-8 FPV Wing, TBS Discovery FPV, TBS Caipirinha FPV
satgod is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 03:21 PM   #23
DemonHeli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 214
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canada, Ontario, Mississauga,
Default

I just picked up the 18mz after having the 14mz, and owning a Spektrum DX7 and I can't go back. The throttle and pitch curves are smooth, no points. The logic to assign multiple switches to activate something as a failsafe, and with a flick of a switch you can change the transmitter into another complete configuration for different conditions of flying or in my case boating! Yes I use it for my boats, Turbine hydro's.

You can fly with other radios but this one has no limits. If you want to make your radio do what ever you need then these are the ones to use. And yes I strap on a DSMX module on the trainer to fly my horizon stuff, they should have left the plug and play port but there is a work around!
__________________
Yes that's a real carbon MCPX!
MCPx, 130x, 400, Goblin 700
DemonHeli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 03:38 PM   #24
oldfrog
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Helicopter Debris Area, aka AREA 52
Default

All this buzz about an 18mz...but no pictures, is the 18mz camera shy ?
__________________
Sent from my Tandy 1000
oldfrog is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 03:47 PM   #25
satgod
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,819
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA,KY,Rineyville
Default

I just passed one up for 2200.00 because I had to buy 2 work trucks this week
guess i'll end up paying full price myself
__________________
Rush 750/stretched V-bar KDE 700XF-495 HV servos Greys reactor CC 160-HV
Trex 600EFL V2 V-Bar ds610 ds650 CC bec/pro Scorpion 130a HV KDE 600XF-530
450L KDE 1750 cc50 4xDS215MG k-bar
X-8 FPV Wing, TBS Discovery FPV, TBS Caipirinha FPV
satgod is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 01:45 AM   #26
Phaedrus
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,114
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SOCAL - USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldfrog View Post
All this buzz about an 18mz...but no pictures, is the 18mz camera shy ?
Here are a few:

http://www.futaba-rc.com/systems/18mz.html

http://www.futaba-rc.com/systems/18mz_menu/index.html

__________________
AMA Leader Member
Team Futaba
Raptor 90SE/YS91ST - T550E FB - T550E FBL w/CGY-750
Phaedrus is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 03:00 PM   #27
oldfrog
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Helicopter Debris Area, aka AREA 52
Default

Thank you Phaedrus,
One thing Futaba left out on this radio...where's the kitchen sink ?
__________________
Sent from my Tandy 1000
oldfrog is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 11:41 AM   #28
Phaedrus
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,114
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SOCAL - USA
Default

The kitchen sink is coming in a future free update
__________________
AMA Leader Member
Team Futaba
Raptor 90SE/YS91ST - T550E FB - T550E FBL w/CGY-750
Phaedrus is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Futaba Radios and Electronics > Futaba 14MZ - 12Z


Futaba 14MZ - 12Z Futaba 14MZ and 12Z Help and features Support Forum

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com