Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Robird G31


Robird G31 RobirdUSA Factory Support Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2012, 04:21 PM   #1
LawnDartHeli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,500
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Arkansas
Default Robird G31 rollup

Just wanted to make a thread for current and upcoming users of this FBL unit. Mainly what I would like to see myself would be setup tips, both mechanical and software wise.
Feel free to post pics or ask questions.
I do not have mine in my hands yet, but I'm interested in its quirks..if it indeed has any.
Maybe if someone has this unit on a 450 they could post what settings/gains they use..same for 500's, 550's, etc...

Links to setup vids and firmware updates would help to.

sent from my phone using circus midgets
__________________
7HV~X5~T500
----Spartan VX1e----
Futaba 8FG super

Last edited by LawnDartHeli; 11-01-2012 at 11:29 AM..
LawnDartHeli is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 07:19 PM   #2
LawnDartHeli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,500
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Arkansas
Default

Heres some setup vids:

There are more here:http://www.skyhobbies.com.sg/pagelin...RobirdG31.html
__________________
7HV~X5~T500
----Spartan VX1e----
Futaba 8FG super
LawnDartHeli is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 08:12 PM   #3
lucidchaos
Registered Users
 
Posts: 747
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Noblesville, IN
Default

I just received my G31 unit today. It appears mine shipped before they were updated with the phase sensor.

I will update as I complete set up and review. It was packaged very well directly from HiModel in China. I cannot comment on shipping time since my shipping was affected by the hurricane.
__________________
Dan Myszak | x7 / x5 / 450 pro v2 / 130x / mcpx / nano qx / x9503 / pl8
lucidchaos is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 02:58 PM   #4
Jonathan Ott
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Killeen, TX
Default

sub'd
__________________
Chaos 600E -- Chaos 450 Pro -- Blade mSR
Jonathan Ott is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 05:02 PM   #5
ifheli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 553
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Woonsocket, R.I.
Default

Here`s some shots of my settings on a MiniTitan that has an ALZRC 3GY which is the same as Robird G31.. I`m still playing with tail settings
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0.jpg
Views:	656
Size:	90.3 KB
ID:	363226   Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	574
Size:	66.7 KB
ID:	363227   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	535
Size:	86.8 KB
ID:	363228   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.jpg
Views:	510
Size:	70.4 KB
ID:	363229   Click image for larger version

Name:	4a.jpg
Views:	509
Size:	84.4 KB
ID:	363230  

Click image for larger version

Name:	4b.jpg
Views:	477
Size:	84.3 KB
ID:	363231   Click image for larger version

Name:	5.jpg
Views:	463
Size:	73.0 KB
ID:	363232   Click image for larger version

Name:	6.jpg
Views:	461
Size:	83.6 KB
ID:	363233   Click image for larger version

Name:	7.jpg
Views:	483
Size:	81.8 KB
ID:	363234   Click image for larger version

Name:	8.jpg
Views:	476
Size:	86.2 KB
ID:	363235  

Click image for larger version

Name:	performance.jpg
Views:	533
Size:	69.4 KB
ID:	363236   Click image for larger version

Name:	vib log.jpg
Views:	442
Size:	74.7 KB
ID:	363237  
__________________
Keith
ifheli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 05:26 PM   #6
LawnDartHeli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,500
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Arkansas
Default

Did you use the supplied tape for mounting? I'm guessing it doesnt use a seperate vib sensor, so I wonder if stiffer tape will effect its reading?

sent from my phone using circus midgets
__________________
7HV~X5~T500
----Spartan VX1e----
Futaba 8FG super
LawnDartHeli is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 05:46 PM   #7
ifheli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 553
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Woonsocket, R.I.
Default

I`m useing 3M tape on all of my Helis. I have one Black Widow, 3 ALZRC and two more G31 on the way.
__________________
Keith
ifheli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 06:36 PM   #8
LawnDartHeli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,500
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Arkansas
Default

A guy on RCG has the Robird on a Trex 500. I had asked him what servo ball distance it calls for. He said his is around 18.5mm. That works for me because a T500 servo balls have to be run on the inside of the arms..and that in turn makes them contact the servo housing on full sweep. I moved my balls out on mine (with the ZYX) and had to turn the cyclic gain way down. He said the Robird will tell you if you have enough travel, if not you move the balls out. That works in my favor I guess. He said also make sure to have a full 12+/12- pitch range before messing with 0/center stick. Did you notice this as well?
__________________
7HV~X5~T500
----Spartan VX1e----
Futaba 8FG super
LawnDartHeli is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 07:52 PM   #9
ifheli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 553
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Woonsocket, R.I.
Default

At this time,I don`t own a 500. All of my 3GY/ G31`s are on 450`s. On the cyclics and collective you will want to keep your travel in the green in software program. This is why I showed picture 4a and 4b on collective. When I set collective pitch in computer program I always start at center stick and set blades to 0 degrees, then move tx stick to full positive and adjust in program, and move stick to full negative and adjust in program for 12+/-. I always try to keep cyclics and collective between 80 and 100 in Robird computer software. If the program feels it is out of wack it will tell you. I have had too play with servo arm lengths afew times to get it right.
__________________
Keith
ifheli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 08:05 PM   #10
LawnDartHeli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,500
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Arkansas
Default

Good to know. Thank you!

sent from my phone using circus midgets
__________________
7HV~X5~T500
----Spartan VX1e----
Futaba 8FG super
LawnDartHeli is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 04:15 PM   #11
SDedic214
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Default Servo arm lengths

Quote:
Originally Posted by ifheli View Post
At this time,I don`t own a 500. All of my 3GY/ G31`s are on 450`s. On the cyclics and collective you will want to keep your travel in the green in software program. This is why I showed picture 4a and 4b on collective. When I set collective pitch in computer program I always start at center stick and set blades to 0 degrees, then move tx stick to full positive and adjust in program, and move stick to full negative and adjust in program for 12+/-. I always try to keep cyclics and collective between 80 and 100 in Robird computer software. If the program feels it is out of wack it will tell you. I have had too play with servo arm lengths afew times to get it right.

Here are some general servo arm lengths to consider when setting up your Robird G31:

250 cyclic: 10.5mm tail: 5mm
450 cyclic: 12.5mm tail: 8mm
500 cyclic: 18mm tail: 10mm
550 cyclic: 21mm tail: 13mm

700 cyclic: 11 to 12mm tail: 13 to 15mm
(Note: For 700 size helis the above distances are for push/pull systems)

Note: These are GENERAL guidelines and you should always refer to your helis assembly manual first.

Last edited by SDedic214; 11-06-2012 at 04:19 PM.. Reason: Punctuation
SDedic214 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 05:14 PM   #12
LawnDartHeli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,500
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Arkansas
Default

Good info, thank you sir!

sent from my phone using circus midgets
__________________
7HV~X5~T500
----Spartan VX1e----
Futaba 8FG super
LawnDartHeli is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 04:44 AM   #13
SDedic214
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Default

Robird is setting up a distributor here in the US which means that there will be product and technical (after sales) support for customers. The first shipment of G31s are already here. More info to follow.
SDedic214 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:27 AM   #14
Jonathan Ott
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Killeen, TX
Default

What about the 600 size birds?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDedic214 View Post
Here are some general servo arm lengths to consider when setting up your Robird G31:

250 cyclic: 10.5mm tail: 5mm
450 cyclic: 12.5mm tail: 8mm
500 cyclic: 18mm tail: 10mm
550 cyclic: 21mm tail: 13mm

700 cyclic: 11 to 12mm tail: 13 to 15mm
(Note: For 700 size helis the above distances are for push/pull systems)

Note: These are GENERAL guidelines and you should always refer to your helis assembly manual first.
__________________
Chaos 600E -- Chaos 450 Pro -- Blade mSR
Jonathan Ott is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 08:58 AM   #15
burhay
Registered Users
 
Posts: 255
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bluegrass state of Kentucky
Default Servo Frequency

Im using Hi-tec HS-5245MG for cyclic.

Within the robird software under the servo setting. It has a dropdown for the swash, tail and motor ESC/Throttle. This allows you to selcet the correct frequency for the servo.

After looking up the specs for the hitec its showing 200hz. The dropdown shows 125,250,333hz. Which do i select to work with my servos?
__________________
Trex 500 ESP, Compass TracX Head, Ikon FBL
HK 450 Trex Clone

Flying..... Into the wild blue yonder
burhay is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:05 AM   #16
LawnDartHeli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,500
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Arkansas
Default

A good rule is to go below the rated frequency. Too high a frequency and you could burn out the servos amplifier and motor. You could try the 250 setting, but I would keep an eye on the servo temp.

sent from my phone using circus midgets
__________________
7HV~X5~T500
----Spartan VX1e----
Futaba 8FG super
LawnDartHeli is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:07 AM   #17
LawnDartHeli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,500
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Arkansas
Default

What voltage are you running them at? If your at 6v I would see the 125hz as the better option.

sent from my phone using circus midgets
__________________
7HV~X5~T500
----Spartan VX1e----
Futaba 8FG super
LawnDartHeli is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:09 AM   #18
burhay
Registered Users
 
Posts: 255
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bluegrass state of Kentucky
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LawnDartHeli View Post
A good rule is to go below the rated frequency. Too high a frequency and you could burn out the servos amplifier and motor. You could try the 250 setting, but I would keep an eye on the servo temp.

sent from my phone using circus midgets
Yes 6 volts

Will do. One more question. Im using an align rce-BL60G. Dont see any info on the HZ of the unit. Should i just select 125hz?
__________________
Trex 500 ESP, Compass TracX Head, Ikon FBL
HK 450 Trex Clone

Flying..... Into the wild blue yonder
burhay is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:13 AM   #19
LawnDartHeli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,500
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Arkansas
Default

*edit
It asks for esc frequency?

sent from my phone using circus midgets
__________________
7HV~X5~T500
----Spartan VX1e----
Futaba 8FG super
LawnDartHeli is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:25 AM   #20
LawnDartHeli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,500
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Arkansas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan Ott View Post
What about the 600 size birds?
I would think 550 and 600 size would be the same?

sent from my phone using circus midgets
__________________
7HV~X5~T500
----Spartan VX1e----
Futaba 8FG super
LawnDartHeli is online now        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Robird G31


Robird G31 RobirdUSA Factory Support Forum

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com