Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Align 3G FBL System


Align 3G FBL System Align 3G FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2012, 11:15 PM   #1
sailmfast
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Midwest
Default 3GX USB adapter for 3G?

I have searched this issue and found my question asked in reverse but can't seem to decipher the answers for my application. So here goes:

Can the 3GX USB adapter and cable be used to do a firmware update on the 3G unit. I have read that the actual USB adapter is the same but the 3GX system came with a single 4 wire cable. I assume it can used as the system is supposed to be updated seperatly (gyro and controller).

If it can be updated then can the same single cable be used to set the parameters for the controller or do I need to buy the Y cable to do the settings to the controller and gyro at the same time?

I'm aware of the advice to ditch align for ??? system and I'm not happy at the prospect of shelling out another 10 bucks for a cable if I don't have to so I hope this adapter will work.

Any advice? Thanks.
sailmfast is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 08:58 AM   #2
bad007
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Brighton, PA
Default

You can use the same USB dongle on the 3G. The update does require the sensor and controller to be performed separate from each other but you should get the Y cable.
The 3G works fine other than having to work with the tail settings a bit. Any Qs PM me, it's a different anamal.

If your thinking about 3.0 forget it.
__________________
Align 450Pro 3GX, Align 500 3G
Align 550 3g, Velocity 50 Vbar
bad007 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 10:46 AM   #3
sailmfast
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Midwest
Default

So avoid version 3.0? My build has taken awhile and the unit over a year old and has never been updated. Probably version 1.?.

It's going on a Trex 500 that's all stock and my skills are somewhere between solid hovering and some very nervous low level out and back. I have installed a Co-Pilot II in the effort to gain some confidence to fly out further and higher.

I'll do some more reading on version 3.0
sailmfast is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 01:23 PM   #4
bad007
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Brighton, PA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailmfast View Post
So avoid version 3.0? My build has taken awhile and the unit over a year old and has never been updated. Probably version 1.?.

It's going on a Trex 500 that's all stock and my skills are somewhere between solid hovering and some very nervous low level out and back. I have installed a Co-Pilot II in the effort to gain some confidence to fly out further and higher.

I'll do some more reading on version 3.0
You want 2.1
http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=370751
__________________
Align 450Pro 3GX, Align 500 3G
Align 550 3g, Velocity 50 Vbar
bad007 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 03:27 PM   #5
songer121
Registered Users
 
Posts: 868
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Beckley WV
Default

you CAN update the 3g system with the 3gx stuff that comes with it because i just did it a month ago! you do not need to use a Y harness just follow the on screen instructions for it and your good.
songer121 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 07:23 PM   #6
bad007
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Brighton, PA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by songer121 View Post
you CAN update the 3g system with the 3gx stuff that comes with it because i just did it a month ago! you do not need to use a Y harness just follow the on screen instructions for it and your good.
Ya but for adjusting parameters in the software the Y cabe is what you need. Secand half of the question
__________________
Align 450Pro 3GX, Align 500 3G
Align 550 3g, Velocity 50 Vbar
bad007 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 05:18 PM   #7
sailmfast
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Midwest
Default

thanks for the replies. Got the cable and am searching around for some setting advice.
sailmfast is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 07:47 PM   #8
bad007
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Brighton, PA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailmfast View Post
thanks for the replies. Got the cable and am searching around for some setting advice.
Ok 3G is a bit different than the 3GX.
Sensor must be mounted level or you'll get drift. Sometimes you need the GP780 mounting, pad, steel plate and then pad and even a strap sometimes
When you setup your cyclic in dirsetup you actully get all the cyclic at 80% stick out of setup.
For a 500 maden settings. In dirsetup set collective 13 and cyclic 13
In the TX drop the cyclic DRs to 85% and expo at 30. At 85% you'll still see full cyclic before
max stick.
The swash return speed needs raised 5 points right away, it returns to fast after input.
For rudder lower rudder lock 5 right away, if you get wag with low gain lower a bit more and if you get a bounch on hard stops after getting the gain set bump up the stop lock, usually 3-5 is all you need.
Gain pots 12:30 for elev and just a tad higher for aileron. If you get elev bobble slow FF lower to 12:00.
After all setup, link up, place throttle at mid stick and you should get all 0's displayed for command rates in the command display screen. If don't get all 0's rerun setup till you do. The 3G is real sensitive to the cyclic center position and will drift or want to tip if you don't see all 0's.
Set TC like 0 60 80 ** **- 0 60 85 ** ** etc and make the IU mid stick the same as normal.
Set PC normal 0 40 45 50 75 100 so you have enough head speed for the 3G to work before it gets light on the skids.
__________________
Align 450Pro 3GX, Align 500 3G
Align 550 3g, Velocity 50 Vbar
bad007 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 01:56 PM   #9
sailmfast
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Midwest
Default

I've been reading everything I can find on the 3G looking for the information you just posted. Can't thank you enough. Before I start working through the set-up I need to clarify. Are you saying to use 13 degrees on both the cyclic and collective in dirsetup. I originally set it up at 12 degrees collective and 8 degrees cyclic. Just want to make sure as I have not heard of using that much cyclic pitch.
sailmfast is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 07:52 PM   #10
bad007
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Brighton, PA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailmfast View Post
I've been reading everything I can find on the 3G looking for the information you just posted. Can't thank you enough. Before I start working through the set-up I need to clarify. Are you saying to use 13 degrees on both the cyclic and collective in dirsetup. I originally set it up at 12 degrees collective and 8 degrees cyclic. Just want to make sure as I have not heard of using that much cyclic pitch.
12 collective is ok buy 8 cyclic no. If you think 13 is to high setup like I described lower the default 80 control rates to 70 and maden it. If it's to twitchy for you go to 12 but I wouldn't go any lower, I'd just lower the control rates by another 5 first.
__________________
Align 450Pro 3GX, Align 500 3G
Align 550 3g, Velocity 50 Vbar

Last edited by bad007; 12-01-2012 at 08:03 PM.. Reason: edited
bad007 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 08:04 PM   #11
bad007
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Brighton, PA
Default

BTW set cyclic expo in the software to 0. Sorry I forgot they had it turned on by default.
__________________
Align 450Pro 3GX, Align 500 3G
Align 550 3g, Velocity 50 Vbar
bad007 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Align 3G FBL System


Align 3G FBL System Align 3G FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com