Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Kontronik Drives


Kontronik Drives Jazz and Jive ESC's and other Kontronik equipment support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2012, 09:12 AM   #1
-kenny-
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,417
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belgium
Default Running built in bec of jive80hv

I'm going to change my setup on my logo from running a lifepack to running the jive80hv built-in bec.
Just to be sure, all i do is re-attach the red wire in the throttle lead and add an extra cable from the slave port on the esc to a free port on my rx, right?

How are the experiences with running the built in bec? I'll be running it at default voltage, with simple digital savox servo's.

Sent from my iPad mini using Tapatalk HD
__________________
Mikado Logo 600 mini Vbar - Outrage fusion50 ar7200bx - goblin 700 mini Vbar - dx7s - powerlab6
-kenny- is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 10:05 AM   #2
alexf1852
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,065
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: FL
Default

Yes, just plug the red wire back in and use the extra servo cable on the slave port.

I used the Jive 80HV's bec on my logo 600 for many, many flights and never had any issue with it. I now have a HeliJive 120HV on my Goblin 630 and still use the BEC at 5.6V.

With Savox servos, I would definitely keep the BEC voltage at default of 5.6V since Savox, Align, and JR servos have high back EMF voltages that can cause the Jive's BEC to into protection mode and shutdown. Having a small (800mah or so) 4-cell NiMH buffer pack would be added insurance.
__________________
MSH Protos * 2, SAB 500, 630
alexf1852 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 02:27 PM   #3
-kenny-
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,417
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belgium
Default

Thanks. I've allready changed it today seems to work like a charm


Sent from my iPad mini using Tapatalk HD
__________________
Mikado Logo 600 mini Vbar - Outrage fusion50 ar7200bx - goblin 700 mini Vbar - dx7s - powerlab6
-kenny- is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 11:23 PM   #4
Dr.Ben
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Default

The JIVE BEC is one of the most reliable pieces of electronic engineering found anywhere in eletric modeling. Run the buffer pack to cover against things like main pack or connection failure, and fly without worries.

Ben Minor
Dr.Ben is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 03:46 AM   #5
-kenny-
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,417
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belgium
Default

How does a bufferpack work again? If i remember correctly, i should just plug it into a free rx port with a switch in between rx and pack?
Allways connect main pack first, then switch on bufferpack? The bufferpack will remain charged by the main pack, right?


Sent from my iPad mini using Tapatalk HD
__________________
Mikado Logo 600 mini Vbar - Outrage fusion50 ar7200bx - goblin 700 mini Vbar - dx7s - powerlab6
-kenny- is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 10:11 AM   #6
Dr.Ben
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Default

Yes. The main thing is to have the buffer packed charged and to keep a routine eye on it. The ESC generally keeps it topped off. You do want ever to fly with a depleted buffer pack because then ESC will try to recharge it. We want power going to the radio, not to actively trying to recover a depleted buffer pack.

Don't overthink this though. Charge the buffer pack, wire it as noted, then go fly.

Ben Minor
Dr.Ben is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 03:09 AM   #7
-kenny-
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,417
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belgium
Default

Thanks. I was just thinking about one thing. I tried setting up my servo's once with one of those battery holders that hold 4 aa batteries. If i moved a servo to fast, my rx browned out. How come this isn't an issue with a buffer pack? Aren't these also just 4 rechargeable aa batteries in series?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Mikado Logo 600 mini Vbar - Outrage fusion50 ar7200bx - goblin 700 mini Vbar - dx7s - powerlab6
-kenny- is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 06:33 AM   #8
dl7uae
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,611
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Am a Kraut.
Default

Kenny, it is a question of the intention behind a buffer pack.

One may be to completely buffer the BEC in case of it fails.

But not here: The reason for a buffer pack is a different one here: The BEC may cut off for emergency reason, if the voltage exceeds a maximum by the back EMF voltages from servos. A JIVE with firmware v9 and up will cut its output for about 250ms and come back if the voltage got below the limit. This would cause brownouts in supplied equipment.
The buffer pack is only there to fill this short gap, not to make an AR on it! The pack will also help to cut voltage peaks what may already completely avoid shutoffs by the BEC monitoring in the ESC.

Read here also.

Tom
__________________
Tom (http://J-Log.eu)
dl7uae is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 06:40 AM   #9
-kenny-
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,417
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belgium
Default

That makes perfect sense. Thanks!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Mikado Logo 600 mini Vbar - Outrage fusion50 ar7200bx - goblin 700 mini Vbar - dx7s - powerlab6
-kenny- is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 06:25 AM   #10
-kenny-
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,417
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belgium
Default

I've made the first flights with the built-in bec this weekend. Could it be the tail isn't as tight as with the lifepack? Or am i just imagining...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Mikado Logo 600 mini Vbar - Outrage fusion50 ar7200bx - goblin 700 mini Vbar - dx7s - powerlab6
-kenny- is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 01:42 PM   #11
-kenny-
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,417
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belgium
Default

I was thinking of running a scorpion backup guard in combination with the built in kontronik bec. Is that possible?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Mikado Logo 600 mini Vbar - Outrage fusion50 ar7200bx - goblin 700 mini Vbar - dx7s - powerlab6
-kenny- is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 04:31 PM   #12
Magneto
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,781
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Default

Youre better off using a nicad bufferpack the scorp backup dosent perform the function that the nicad does on the jive its not only a redundant power source it also helps with peaks and valleys from the servo consumption as DL7uae explained.
__________________
Team Kontronik USA
Magneto is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 01:45 AM   #13
-kenny-
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,417
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Belgium
Default

Ok thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Mikado Logo 600 mini Vbar - Outrage fusion50 ar7200bx - goblin 700 mini Vbar - dx7s - powerlab6
-kenny- is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Kontronik Drives


Kontronik Drives Jazz and Jive ESC's and other Kontronik equipment support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com