Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 500 Class Electric Helicopters


500 Class Electric Helicopters 500 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2012, 08:45 PM   #1
Jaxfan08
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Georgia
Default Fried my 2nd esc during build- help

Hello, I'm currently building a trex 500 model with flybar, and the finless videos have been extremely helpful. I'm on gyro setup, and the first time I plugged everything in (except the motor) the ESC let the smoke out when power was applied. This is the stock Align 70a esc and a gp790 gyro. Tonight I hooked up a new ESC, powered the gyro, elev, pitch, and aileron servos no problem. Hooked up the tail servo to the gyro and poof- all the smoke got let out again...... Tail servo is an align DS 520. Hookups were as follows to a spektrum 6 channel ar6210: esc to throttlle (ch 1),aileron to ch 2, elevator to channel 3, gyro to channel 4, gyro gain to channel 5, pitch to channel 6. Appears to me problem has to be in gyro or tail servo, unless I'm missing something, how can I narrow it down without blowing up another ESC? Thanks in advance for any help.
Jaxfan08 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 02:13 PM   #2
Blayd
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Over The Hills and Far Away
Default

Did you use the same tail servo from the first burn out? It might have burned up and will fry stuff if connected to anything.
Since you said you had everything powered up and there was no problem UNITL you plugged in the tail servo.. I would look there first. Have another tail servo to try? Or a servo tester?
If the tail servo is shot, and you hooked it up a second time, it will fry something. ( The ESC's internal BEC is probably what went..)
I'm not familiar with the GP790, but on Spartan gyro's, you CANT hook up the servo until the proper setting for THAT servo are set first, otherwise you risk frying the servo as soon as power is connected. Alot of guys fry very expensive servos because they hook them up BEFORE making sure what the gyro is set for. Again, not sure if this is the same for the GP790.
Your not using an external BEC are you?
I am also not sure if the BEC in the Align ESC has the capability to set the BEC voltage or not, but perhaps the BEC is set too low and the minute the tail servo is hooked up, its overloaded?? ( Shouldnt be this.. Aligns are default for the kits servos..)
__________________
Trex700N2E
Trex500ESPTT(PRO head and Tail )
Trex500ESP (Belted)
HC500SE ....GO TEAM FLYBAR!
Blayd is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 04:21 PM   #3
Excalibur3
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,213
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Carmel,ny
Default

You are supposed to set up gyro step one and two without plugging in the tail into the gyro.
These are the default settings
1. Standard 1520 (green light)
2. Digital ( green light)
3. Normal (green light)
4. Limit
5. Medium/ large Heli 500/600/700 (green light)

I too am running the stock servo DS520
Although I checked step 1 and 2 before plugging in the servo it was factory set perfectly anyways. So I don't think that's what happened to you. The only thing I had to do was set the limits everything else was already set properly with the default settings. Hope this helps. Oh and my gyro if coarse is the gp790 and my kit was the trex 500e ( FB Heli)


HK250SR,Blade 450 3D,Blade 450 X,DX6I, Phoenix V4,Nano CPX, ( Newborn baby Trex 500)
__________________
TREX 700 Pro DFC HV, TREX 550 Pro,GOBLIN 570 Futaba 14SGH
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Excalibur3 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 04:29 PM   #4
Excalibur3
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,213
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Carmel,ny
Default

Also is it possible that you are plugging in the tail servo backwards. Looking down at the gyro the black wire goes to the far right side( port side). As in this picture from the manual.


HK250SR,Blade 450 3D,Blade 450 X,DX6I, Phoenix V4,Nano CPX, ( Newborn baby Trex 500)
__________________
TREX 700 Pro DFC HV, TREX 550 Pro,GOBLIN 570 Futaba 14SGH
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Excalibur3 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 06:10 PM   #5
Dejavu*Xion
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,403
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Nevada
Default

IMO- Align 70 amp esc's suck. I went thru 3 of them in 2 years. One smoked for no reason, the other two the caps just vibrated off. I then went with Hobbywing 80amp esc and have never had a problem in the esc dept.
If you do decide to stay with the Align 70amp. Be sure and shrink wrap those caps in place.
__________________
Align 700 V2 HV -- Beam Avantgarde 600---Align 550 V2--- Goblin 500 --- RJX Xtron 500 -- Gaui X3
Dejavu*Xion is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 07:58 PM   #6
Excalibur3
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,213
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Carmel,ny
Default

You know what worries me. When I only had blade helis everyone said how great align is. Everything align is perfect and now that I built my first align kit I've been noticing comments like above about align parts sucking. I hope I didn't get a dud I didn't even realize that would be the case? But despite I love my trex 500. It's a beast. Good luck with your esc issues.


HK250SR,Blade 450 3D,Blade 450 X,DX6I, Phoenix V4,Nano CPX, ( Newborn baby Trex 500)
__________________
TREX 700 Pro DFC HV, TREX 550 Pro,GOBLIN 570 Futaba 14SGH
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Excalibur3 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 09:22 PM   #7
jabu32
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,302
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Default

does the 60amp have the same issues?
__________________
Hello My Name Is Joe
Blade 130X - Lynx EOX / Blade 300x - AR7200BX, 2213-3585 / Trex 500ESP DFC - AR7200BX, 500MX / Trex 550e DFC - AR7200BX, 600MX / TSA 600e Pro - AR7200BX / TBS Discovery FPV - APM, Sunnysky 980kv/ DX8
jabu32 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 11:50 PM   #8
ronm3313
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,769
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Antioch, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Excalibur3 View Post
You know what worries me. When I only had blade helis everyone said how great align is. Everything align is perfect and now that I built my first align kit I've been noticing comments like above about align parts sucking. I hope I didn't get a dud I didn't even realize that would be the case? But despite I love my trex 500. It's a beast. Good luck with your esc issues.


HK250SR,Blade 450 3D,Blade 450 X,DX6I, Phoenix V4,Nano CPX, ( Newborn baby Trex 500)
No matter what you buy, or how much you spend, somebody thinks it's junk!
__________________
AMA: 943183, DX8, Tarot 500 ESP DFC/Vbar, Goblin 700/Brain
ronm3313 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 06:23 AM   #9
nbells
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Scotland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Excalibur3 View Post
You know what worries me. When I only had blade helis everyone said how great align is. Everything align is perfect and now that I built my first align kit I've been noticing comments like above about align parts sucking. I hope I didn't get a dud I didn't even realize that would be the case? But despite I love my trex 500. It's a beast. Good luck with your esc issues.


HK250SR,Blade 450 3D,Blade 450 X,DX6I, Phoenix V4,Nano CPX, ( Newborn baby Trex 500)

What parts were ""sucking"" ?????

If you were looking for better parts then you should of bought the Pro Version.

if you buy the cheaper option of any product, then expect cheaper parts to be supplied....... that's why there is a difference in price between base models and top end models of any product.

nbells.
__________________
Nigel.
A few little tiddlers ..SR, 300X, TRex 500E Pro with DFC, Trex 700DFC..... and quite a few Planks and Tanks !
nbells is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 06:51 AM   #10
Excalibur3
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,213
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Carmel,ny
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nbells View Post
What parts were ""sucking"" ?????

If you were looking for better parts then you should of bought the Pro Version.

if you buy the cheaper option of any product, then expect cheaper parts to be supplied....... that's why there is a difference in price between base models and top end models of any product.

nbells.
As mentioned above the "esc" I'm not saying mine. Mine went together without a hitch. It was a pleasure to build. I'm just saying over in the blade forums people never mention anything bad about align. So I was shocked when I came to the 500 forum and started finding problems people where having with stick parts. That's all. Besides I think the pro and the e both have the same esc.


HK250SR,Blade 450 3D,Blade 450 X,DX6I, Phoenix V4,Nano CPX, ( Newborn baby Trex 500)
__________________
TREX 700 Pro DFC HV, TREX 550 Pro,GOBLIN 570 Futaba 14SGH
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Excalibur3 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 09:46 AM   #11
Dejavu*Xion
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,403
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Nevada
Default

Dont let my words discourage anyone from align. Overall align is Good quality. I would give them 8 out of 10. I have built them all. From 450 - 600's. And the only problem with align i have had was just their 70amp esc's.
All of their servos, Gyros, motors ect.. have worked out great for me. I have an align 100amp esc in my 600 and an align 35amp in my 450 And they have been doing well for going on 3 years now.
Its just those damn 70amp esc's That were made wrong. They "align" should have shrink wrapped those long caps in place. They are also known to short out, ( smoke) becous a foam tab was not inserted between heatsink and electronics. Its a live and learn hobby. And align is by far better then any blade product. Of course that last line is my opinion and not a fact. Personaly I say just wash your hands of the 70amp and go with a hobbywing or a yep from hobbyking.
__________________
Align 700 V2 HV -- Beam Avantgarde 600---Align 550 V2--- Goblin 500 --- RJX Xtron 500 -- Gaui X3
Dejavu*Xion is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 09:50 AM   #12
Dejavu*Xion
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,403
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Nevada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jabu32 View Post
does the 60amp have the same issues?

I have yet to ever read a bad report on the 60amp
__________________
Align 700 V2 HV -- Beam Avantgarde 600---Align 550 V2--- Goblin 500 --- RJX Xtron 500 -- Gaui X3
Dejavu*Xion is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 07:18 PM   #13
jabu32
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,302
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Default

that's what i want to hear
__________________
Hello My Name Is Joe
Blade 130X - Lynx EOX / Blade 300x - AR7200BX, 2213-3585 / Trex 500ESP DFC - AR7200BX, 500MX / Trex 550e DFC - AR7200BX, 600MX / TSA 600e Pro - AR7200BX / TBS Discovery FPV - APM, Sunnysky 980kv/ DX8
jabu32 is online now        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 500 Class Electric Helicopters


500 Class Electric Helicopters 500 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com