Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room


Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room - Tips and how-To Videos


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2008, 02:07 AM   #1
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,210
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default Aerospire MultiGov Pro Setup Videos

Well I finally got a MultiGov to try out! Special thanks to Aerospire. I was helping someone on the forum a few weeks ago with a MultiGov question and Aerospire PM'ed me and asked if I was interested in trying a MultiGov. They did not ask me to do a video setup but you know me

This unit has some serious features! I cant wait to get it installed and replace my Carb Smart and reduce my component count and wiring

Anyway here is a set of "on the bench" setup videos explaining the unit and showing you how to set up.

Overview of the MultiGov and it's Features
Video Link ->Overview and Features (22 Megs)

Connections for the RX, Servos, Sensors, etc
Video Link ->Connecting the unit up (40 Megs)

Hardware setup discussion and "base" radio config for X9303 and the DX7
Video Link ->Hardware & Basic Radio Setup (39 Megs)

Menu Structure and Gov Menu Setup
Video Link ->Gov Menu Setup (47 Megs)

Mixture Menu Setup
Video Link ->Mixture Menu Setup (35 Megs)

Advanced Menu Setup
Video Link ->Advanced Menu Setup (35 Megs)

Setting the Throttle Curves before you fly
Video Link ->Basic Throttle Curves Setup (35 Megs)

OK that does it for the basics of setting up the MultiGov. I will now get mine installed and tested in the field. I will come back with a follow up video of any changes I made for my T600 and how the unit worked out! So Stay tuned!

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Finless; 09-24-2008 at 10:30 AM..
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 05:24 AM   #2
madmick
Registered Users
 
Posts: 167
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hobart -Tasmania - Australia
Default

Hi Bob the -- Video Link ->Mixture Menu Setup Is not working
madmick is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 09:15 AM   #3
RadioRob
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago
Default

I am going to try the Spectrum sensor on my Raven because of the difficulty of a standard sensor mount. I have heard that it should work.


Rob...
RadioRob is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 10:30 AM   #4
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,210
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madmick View Post
Hi Bob the -- Video Link ->Mixture Menu Setup Is not working
Ooops.... typo! It's fixed.

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 10:30 AM   #5
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,210
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioRob View Post
I am going to try the Spectrum sensor on my Raven because of the difficulty of a standard sensor mount. I have heard that it should work.


Rob...
Yes that sensor will work with the Multigov.

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 02:25 PM   #6
acidla
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,252
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cyprus
Default

Have been waiting for the Multigov video.I am downloading now.

Thanks Bob!!
__________________
Michalis.
Trex 500 ESP V-Stabi - 7HV Ultimate!
...and let the flying be second nature!
acidla is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 11:20 PM   #7
sonofcar
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: cali
Default

i have been running the multi gov for about 14 months now and it has been flawless I had time to mess with my friends pro and it with the added stuff is setting the bench mark for govs.( he was using the gv1 before 150 bucks and now knows why i was bugging him to smash his gv1)
sonofcar is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 07:05 PM   #8
cmoney79
Registered Users
 
Posts: 206
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Default

Been using the multi gov for over a year. Chung set it up for me in vegas finaly bob did a video so I can set it up right myself. Not to say Chung did it wrong but you never know what youll get from the guy who hung his heli on a fishing pole to learn inverted hover. Thanks Bob
cmoney79 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 11:55 PM   #9
heliadict1212
Registered Users
 
Posts: 392
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

I have been waiting for this series to come for a LOOOONG time! THANK YOU FINLESS!!!!! Cant wait to get your opinion on it as this is the only gov I have ever used I'd like to hear a comparison or a "Finless Approved" stamp on it!
__________________
too many to list...only one I care to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Trex 700, 91sr/sb19, BLS451's cyclic, Spartan/9256.....
heliadict1212 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 12:57 AM   #10
lionc
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Switzerland
Default

I just installed the gov with the spektrum sensor. But when I test the sensor, it's always "ON" and when the crankshaft is in front of the sensor it's "---". I was waiting for an inverted behaviour... Can I fly like this?

Last edited by lionc; 10-20-2008 at 02:55 AM..
lionc is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 10:49 AM   #11
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,210
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

What motor? If a YS motor then you have to back the spectrum sensor off the back plate a little.

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 10:57 AM   #12
lionc
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Switzerland
Default

It's a TT 53 RL. But I will try this. Thanks a lot.

I tried to add more space, it's working very well.

Last edited by lionc; 10-21-2008 at 11:05 AM.. Reason: solved
lionc is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 05:42 AM   #13
acidla
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,252
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cyprus
Default

Bob,

How the '3D' mode in the governor mode perfomed? Also, have you tried the limiter mode?

I dont understand why the people at Aerospire recommended that u turn off the limiter, and use the governor mode.

Cheers
__________________
Michalis.
Trex 500 ESP V-Stabi - 7HV Ultimate!
...and let the flying be second nature!
acidla is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 10:44 AM   #14
Pinecone
Registered Users
 
Posts: 18,336
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maryland
Default

Because the MGP, in gov mode, reads the throttle curve and can actually advance the throttle BEFORE the RPM drops.

The old thing that limiters react quicker is BS. If they don't have read ahead, they still have to wait for the RPM to change to respond. Any good governor should be able to respond as fast as the servo does. Maybe in the early days with slower processors, a limiter would "feel" better, but I can't see it with a recent product design.
__________________
Terry
AMA#47402, IRCHA # 3395
Blade CP "Pro", Trex 450SE, PiccoZ, Quick of Japan EP8v2 EX, Hurricane 550, Hurricane 200, JR Vibe 50, Blade mCX, Bergen Intrepid Gasser, Pantera 50, Blade mSR, Novus CP
Pinecone is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 10:51 AM   #15
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,210
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinecone View Post
Because the MGP, in gov mode, reads the throttle curve and can actually advance the throttle BEFORE the RPM drops.

The old thing that limiters react quicker is BS. If they don't have read ahead, they still have to wait for the RPM to change to respond. Any good governor should be able to respond as fast as the servo does. Maybe in the early days with slower processors, a limiter would "feel" better, but I can't see it with a recent product design.

I disagree on your comment about the limiter. Other than the multigov, a limiter has always worked better. It is not chasing the rpm on both the low side and the high side. It JUST looks for overspeed. Your throttle curve is 100% flat and a limiter only touches the throttle when it starts to see an over speed.
Most govs I have tried (I have tried a lot of them) have a problem with under speed. e.g. come out of a loop and it drops the rpm too much. Increasing the middle idle curve point doesn't help either! To fix this you have to teach the gov that the low stick is not as low (when your programming it). Royal pain in the butt as it is trial and error. With a limiter you don't have to do that and overall a limiter reacts faster as it is only doing one thing... Limiting.....
The multigov is the first governor I have used that does not seem to have this problem so the software does a good job there!

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 03:05 AM   #16
Y@nkee
Registered Users
 
Posts: 527
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Øvre Årdal, Norway
Default

Is there a reason for running the centerpoint so high Bob?
I mean, a centerpoint at 80% would make the heli scream in case of a sensorfailure or losing a magnet.
My understanding of govenors is that as long as you dont have a throttlecurve that dont go below the armingpoint of the gov it wont care what your throttlecurve looks like.
So, cant we use a "flyable" throttlecurve on the multigov?
Then in case of a failure of some sort you still could fly in for a landing instead of having to auto it down.
.
__________________
Jan
Futaba T14SG, Copterx/align 450 Pro miniVbar, Tianzi TZ 50 (Stinger 50), T-Rex 600N pro Vbar, Kasama Srimok 90n ECO Vbar, Minicopter Diabolo 14s Kosmik200 pyro800 Vbar
Y@nkee is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 12:04 PM   #17
Pinecone
Registered Users
 
Posts: 18,336
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maryland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finless View Post
I disagree on your comment about the limiter. Other than the multigov, a limiter has always worked better. It is not chasing the rpm on both the low side and the high side. It JUST looks for overspeed. Your throttle curve is 100% flat and a limiter only touches the throttle when it starts to see an over speed.
Most govs I have tried (I have tried a lot of them) have a problem with under speed. e.g. come out of a loop and it drops the rpm too much. Increasing the middle idle curve point doesn't help either! To fix this you have to teach the gov that the low stick is not as low (when your programming it). Royal pain in the butt as it is trial and error. With a limiter you don't have to do that and overall a limiter reacts faster as it is only doing one thing... Limiting.....
The multigov is the first governor I have used that does not seem to have this problem so the software does a good job there!

Bob
I did say a GOOD governor. Actually I was talking about the MGP and didn't want to dis any other govs that might also do a good job.

Yes, some of them don't do this, but that is because they aren't reading the throttle curve properly. The throttle curve shouldn't do anything except clue the gov that the pitch is increasing or decreasing. Not really how much.

Talking with Bob of Aerospire yesterday, (he was wondering when you were going to visit? ), for gov mode on the MGP the best throttle curve in Idle Up is 100 - 65 - 100. Steeper can cause the gov some trouble. For running the MGP in limiter mode, use 100 - 80 - 100. Seems he reads the throttle curve even in limiter mode.

As to how govs versus limiters work, it doesn't matter whether you are just looking for over-speed or over- and under- speed. It does matter how you use the info. But there is no reason that a gov should not perform as well or better than a limiter. Only the limitations of the firmware and the designer cause that to happen. Assuming a reasonably fast processor for the work.
__________________
Terry
AMA#47402, IRCHA # 3395
Blade CP "Pro", Trex 450SE, PiccoZ, Quick of Japan EP8v2 EX, Hurricane 550, Hurricane 200, JR Vibe 50, Blade mCX, Bergen Intrepid Gasser, Pantera 50, Blade mSR, Novus CP
Pinecone is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 12:25 PM   #18
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,210
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Quote:
Talking with Bob of Aerospire yesterday, (he was wondering when you were going to visit? ),
Where? I forget where Aerospire is located?

Quote:
Only the limitations of the firmware and the designer cause that to happen. Assuming a reasonably fast processor for the work.
Agreed... but up until now trying many govs and never really using a rev limiter until the AR7100, the Rev limiter has worked better than any gov I have used, UP until using this multigov... I am going to have to try limiter mode on the MGP just for grins...

FYI the 65 low point for the V is relative to the heli setup too.. The center throttle mark is not always 1/2 power depending on the engine, pipe, tuning, etc! So I bet the 65 he is saying is using OS 50 hyper? For instance with the Align gov 65-70 works best on a 600 OS 50... On the 700 you need 80 for YS but about 70 for OS. On my 600 with the MPG I have 70 and it seems fine and probably close enough to 65. Haven't tried the MPG on a 90 with a YS yet.
Also I bet what pipe you use and tuning of it will effect power / RPM at specific carb locations so 65% on one might not be the same on another.
Anyway all I am saying is plugging in 65 for every heli is probably a good starting point but you might have to tweak depending on setup.

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 12:42 PM   #19
rubbersoul
Registered Users
 
Posts: 662
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: San Francisco
Default

Quick check for a nitro newbie:

Mixture control turns needle valve left when hot, right when cold. Correct? I used a blow dryer on the sensor and the servo turned the valve left (richer mixture).
rubbersoul is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 12:49 PM   #20
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,210
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Well yes and no... If the arm attached to the needle valve is pointing up then it would be one way. Pointed down would be a different way! So dont look at which way the arm goes.

Looking directly at the needle valve, leaning the mixture you turn the needle valve clockwise. To richen mixture you turn it counter clockwise.

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room


Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room - Tips and how-To Videos

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com