Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room


Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room - Tips and how-To Videos


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2008, 05:28 PM   #1
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,199
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default BEC 101 Video

OK I got asked to do a overview of what BEC is vs a regulator and what a BEC is and how it gets hooked up.

So I whipped this up real quick.

BEC 101 - What's a BEC and how do you hook it up (47 Megs)

Enjoy
Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Finless; 01-03-2008 at 07:09 PM..
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 06:08 PM   #2
DebianDog
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,982
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Powhatan, VA
Default

I am ACTUALLY going to watch this one cuz I need to get my learn on.
__________________
Dan Da Dawg - JR X9303
Hexa F550 on 3S + 6S TREX 500 + 6S TREX 600 + Blade mSR + Blade mCPx2 Brushless + 12S Rave FBL ENV
DebianDog is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 06:38 PM   #3
bullaculla
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,758
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Default

Very good video Bob. Not just for noobs! Good tip about using the gyro signal plug for suppling power.
__________________
T-Rex 600 HFE-stretched to 700, 10s, Tango 45-08, Jazz 55, JR7703D/S8900G, DJ Vegh nose cam mount.
T-Rex 600 HFX-stretched to 700, 10s, Orbit 30-12, Jazz 55, GY611/S9256, Askman 360 mount.
JR X9303.
bullaculla is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 10:51 PM   #4
xeispen
Registered Users
 
Posts: 401
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pomona, Ca
Default

I've never used a BEC but I'm thinking of putting in a Park BEC for my Trex. But on an ar6100 their is a BAT slot on the reciever used for binding. Can't we just plug in the BEC through that line? Or do we still have to remove the positive lead from the Align speed control?

Thanks guys.
__________________
Peisen
"flying rc helis is like fighting every law in the book of physics" AMA #902366

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<< Checkout my YT
xeispen is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 11:30 PM   #5
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,199
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

You MUST still remove the positive lead from the align ESC or you will have 2 power source inputing and casuing a problem. Remember tjhe buss bars! They connect to every connector.

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 04:03 AM   #6
bullaculla
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,758
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Default

What if you want to run two BECs in parallel? My JR R921 has a batt A and batt B. can I just plug a BEC into each of them?
__________________
T-Rex 600 HFE-stretched to 700, 10s, Tango 45-08, Jazz 55, JR7703D/S8900G, DJ Vegh nose cam mount.
T-Rex 600 HFX-stretched to 700, 10s, Orbit 30-12, Jazz 55, GY611/S9256, Askman 360 mount.
JR X9303.
bullaculla is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 10:07 AM   #7
OTA
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,201
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Norway
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finless View Post
You MUST still remove the positive lead from the align ESC or you will have 2 power source inputing and casuing a problem. Remember tjhe buss bars! They connect to every connector.

Bob
???? Thought the Align ESC had none BEC built into the unit ? Are you saying it supplys some kind of power to the RX which may conflict if lets say putting in a CC BEC instead of the Align BEC and 2S Lipo ?
__________________
T-Rex 650 CF / Scorpion 4025-630, 12S
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jive 80+HV,2 x TP 3300 6S V2, Radix 710SB,Super Stubz,Futaba 9451,Spartan DS760/BLS251.Quick UK swash and tail
T-Rex 700N, OS 91HZ, Hatori 939, Radix 710SB, BLS 451, 9254 for throttle, Spartan DS760/BLS251, Quick UK tail,
OTA is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 12:32 PM   #8
Pinecone
Registered Users
 
Posts: 18,336
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maryland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finless View Post
You MUST still remove the positive lead from the align ESC or you will have 2 power source inputing and casuing a problem. Remember tjhe buss bars! They connect to every connector.

Bob
Not with the ParkBEC or SportBEC, IF you plug the ESC into the BEC, then the BEC into the Rx. The Dimension Engineering BECs disconnect the red wire from the ESC by themselves.

Which also means, if you use them with an ESC that has no internal power (Gaui 50A for one),. you cannot plug the ESC into the Park/SportBEC as it will get no power.
__________________
Terry
AMA#47402, IRCHA # 3395
Blade CP "Pro", Trex 450SE, PiccoZ, Quick of Japan EP8v2 EX, Hurricane 550, Hurricane 200, JR Vibe 50, Blade mCX, Bergen Intrepid Gasser, Pantera 50, Blade mSR, Novus CP
Pinecone is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 12:40 PM   #9
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,199
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinecone View Post
Which also means, if you use them with an ESC that has no internal power (Gaui 50A for one),. you cannot plug the ESC into the Park/SportBEC as it will get no power.
Huh? I have no clue what you mean here?

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 01:22 PM   #10
fireup
Team Taco CEO
 
Posts: 3,338
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Anaheim, CA
Default

He's just saying that some BEC has an input for your ESC and it disconnects the red wire for you and feed the control signal through... Personally I like to plug my ESC direct to the Rx so it's more reliable.

__________________
Kevin

Don't Taco My Pack, Bro! ,
Why crash when you can POUND it!
fireup is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 01:25 PM   #11
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,199
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Ah OK... I forgot about that type.... Heck I have one of those too and could have added it in the video.

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 02:08 PM   #12
OTA
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,201
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Norway
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finless View Post
You MUST still remove the positive lead from the align ESC or you will have 2 power source inputing and casuing a problem. Remember tjhe buss bars! They connect to every connector.

Bob
Bob

Maybe a dumb question, but can you explain this a little as i was believing that the Align ESC had none BEC and as such do not give any power to the RX other than the throttle signals as it is supposed to do.
__________________
T-Rex 650 CF / Scorpion 4025-630, 12S
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jive 80+HV,2 x TP 3300 6S V2, Radix 710SB,Super Stubz,Futaba 9451,Spartan DS760/BLS251.Quick UK swash and tail
T-Rex 700N, OS 91HZ, Hatori 939, Radix 710SB, BLS 451, 9254 for throttle, Spartan DS760/BLS251, Quick UK tail,
OTA is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 02:09 PM   #13
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,199
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

The Align ESC for the 450 has a BEC. The Align ESC for the 500 has a BEC. The Align 75 and 100 for the Trex600 does NOT have a BEC.

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 02:11 PM   #14
fireup
Team Taco CEO
 
Posts: 3,338
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Anaheim, CA
Default

Bob was refuring to Align ESC for the 450 which as a BEC onboard. Align ESC for the 600 don't have an onboard BEC.

Edit: damit... faster than me@#!!
__________________
Kevin

Don't Taco My Pack, Bro! ,
Why crash when you can POUND it!
fireup is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 02:13 PM   #15
OTA
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,201
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Norway
Default

Ahh...... I am quite narrow minded since i only have to deal with my 600 and you have to think off a whole bunch of different setups. Lol.
Thanks.
__________________
T-Rex 650 CF / Scorpion 4025-630, 12S
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jive 80+HV,2 x TP 3300 6S V2, Radix 710SB,Super Stubz,Futaba 9451,Spartan DS760/BLS251.Quick UK swash and tail
T-Rex 700N, OS 91HZ, Hatori 939, Radix 710SB, BLS 451, 9254 for throttle, Spartan DS760/BLS251, Quick UK tail,
OTA is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 06:33 PM   #16
huskynox
Registered Users
 
Posts: 915
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Default

Great video. Thanks Bob.
__________________
500CF - 3650's, 3500G, Spartan, Stock ESC, Stock Motor, TP 6s Pro Power 2700mAh
PROTOS - 3650's, 3500G, Spartan, Scorpion 3026-880, ICE Lite 100, TP 6s Pro Power 2700mAh
600E - 8717's, 8900G, Spartan, Scorpion 4025-890, CC HV85, TP Pro Power 8s 3850mAh
Kasama Srimok - 8717HV's, 8900G, AR7100R, Spartan, YS 91SR, Hatori SB19
huskynox is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 07:02 PM   #17
Pinecone
Registered Users
 
Posts: 18,336
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maryland
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finless View Post
The Align ESC for the 450 has a BEC. The Align ESC for the 500 has a BEC. The Align 75 and 100 for the Trex600 does NOT have a BEC.

Bob
So if you hook them up to a SportBEC the "normal way", inline, they don't get power. So you have to hook them up like other BECs, with both the BEC and ESC connected to the Rx.
__________________
Terry
AMA#47402, IRCHA # 3395
Blade CP "Pro", Trex 450SE, PiccoZ, Quick of Japan EP8v2 EX, Hurricane 550, Hurricane 200, JR Vibe 50, Blade mCX, Bergen Intrepid Gasser, Pantera 50, Blade mSR, Novus CP
Pinecone is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 07:19 PM   #18
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,199
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

How can the BEC not get power if it is hooked to the battery? You shouldnt be powering the Sport BEC from the ESC's BEC or that doesnt buy you anything. The BEC has a set of battery wires that get hooked ot the main battery.

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 07:45 PM   #19
lightbulbjim
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Default

He's referring to the ESC (without internal BEC) getting power from the receiver for the control circuitry.
lightbulbjim is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 07:54 PM   #20
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,199
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Huh? The ESC doesnt need power other than from the main pack BEC or no BEC. The only thing the ESC needs from the RX is a throttle signal.

A real BEC (not a regulator) gets it's power from the main battery and converts it to 6V or 5V to power the RX.

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room


Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room - Tips and how-To Videos

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com