Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room


Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room - Tips and how-To Videos


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2008, 01:13 PM   #41
DarkHeli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,200
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: nYc
Default

Thanks finless!

Please make points on eliminating drift, I am having some issues. Also, are you going to use the 2 sided tape that came with the gyro?
__________________
Trex450v2/cxhead,cc35,65MG,9650/401,2221-8/13T
Trex500ESP-8cell beast ICE100,Scorp 1210kv,510's,spartan/MKS8910
Trex600NSP--Hyper50,Align gov,Align pipe,7703D+8900,Hitec 5965's,s3003 for throttle
7c 2.4
DarkHeli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 01:58 PM   #42
stoatnchips
Registered Users
 
Posts: 583
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Asheville, NC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHOPPER PATROL View Post
Ultimately with the DX7 you can setup D/R and then adjust left and right piro rate to match each other in the rudder travel adjust. Is this correct Bob?

I enjoyed the videos but would like to know why with a 401 gyro my gain setting was 56% and with the JR770 the gain is only 15% (DX7 radio). This threw me way off when I initially set up the 770 as I tried 55, 60, 70, 80% until I realize I had to be much closer to zero. The tail was wagging wildly about 30 to 45 degrees at first (ya scary).

Thanks Bob for all your hard work, you answer all the questions I would have, that would take many trips to the field to get answered.

Exactly what i'm waiting to find out about .... 14% on the gear channel and it floats all over the place... 15% and it ocasionally wags and bounces!! I'm still thinking there maybe a fault with the gyro. It would be great to see this gyro setup on a 450 too if you have the time Bob... I'd be interested to see which servo hole distance is best and which mounting tape/foam is used... As per my last post, i've tried quite a few combinations so far and am happier with a Logictech 2100
__________________
250 - Stock, Quark, DS290
450SE V2 - Align Frame, ESC & Motor, HDX V3 tail, Kasama MT Head, Beam Swash, Gorilla Gear, Spartan, DS3400g
500ESP - Spartan, DS3500g
stoatnchips is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 02:02 PM   #43
mapleleafs
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,557
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: King City, Ontario
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkHeli View Post
Thanks finless!

Please make points on eliminating drift, I am having some issues. Also, are you going to use the 2 sided tape that came with the gyro?
I'm not sure if Bob will, but the double sided tape included is not good, nitro and vibrations weaken it greatly and it splits apart.

...i for one use industrial strength 1.5mm double sided tape(it has a rubber texter and is super sticky), not to mention very thin and keeps the gyro from moving.
mapleleafs is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 02:08 PM   #44
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,221
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

In the last month I have probably solved 5 heli's with drifting problems in HH. This was with different gyros (401 twice, spartan twice, 611). ALL of them the drift was caused by improper mounting of the sensor. From mounted WAY too loose (gyro moved around too much) on a nitro to WAY to hard mounted. Seems folks coming from electric helis that do not have NEAR the vibration of a nitro, are using the same practice of mounting which may or may not work well on a nitro.

So opinion there is if your having drift and everything else seems to be setup OK, try different mounting of the sensor! You are either too hard mounted or to soft.

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 02:36 PM   #45
TheBum
HF Support
 
Posts: 33,099
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: McKinney, TX, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way, Universe
Default

The G770 in my T-Rex 600N is mounted on an Align gyro mount directly above the aileron/pitch servos with one layer of 3M foam tape and no strap. It has been rock-solid.
__________________
Alan (just call me "Bum"; no need to be so formal)
HeliFreak Support
Compass Atom 500 (V-Bar), *MIA* Compass 7HV (V-Bar), Dart Tin DT520E V2 (VBar), Stingray 500

Experience is something you gain only after you need it.
I wouldn't mind social media so much if it didn't involve people.
TheBum is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 02:44 PM   #46
DarkHeli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,200
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: nYc
Thumbs up

edit: flew the heli today. Looks like the stock recommended settings were a little too low for me. Went up from 62 to about 63.5 and all is well, drift is gone. I also think it may be contributed to the fact that I flew with a very rich engine (6 minutes of hover)and back plate is nice and warm so I think I will lean her out a little bit and see if everything is perfect. (I am still getting very tiny twitches)
I will add some 3m 2x sided tape later and see what that does.
__________________
Trex450v2/cxhead,cc35,65MG,9650/401,2221-8/13T
Trex500ESP-8cell beast ICE100,Scorp 1210kv,510's,spartan/MKS8910
Trex600NSP--Hyper50,Align gov,Align pipe,7703D+8900,Hitec 5965's,s3003 for throttle
7c 2.4
DarkHeli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 02:54 PM   #47
Kratos
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Default

Mine is mounted beneath boom block with stock servo tape and one velcro strap for safety. I'm also getting the "Tokyo Drift" on mine. I was'nt able to fly on my lunch hour and mess with the settings because it started raining pretty bad here. I will need to wait for clear Michigan skies. Ha ha ha.
Thanks
Kratos is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 09:17 PM   #48
Gutaaaooo
Registered Users
 
Posts: 147
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brazil
Default

I had my 770 3d (Don't know if there is a diference from the normal do the 3D?) with a 3500 on my T450 and it held much better then my 401s, but then I wanted to get rid of those tail rod guides, so I just got them out, and epoxied a CF tube on the rod, just like Finless did on the Aurora. Now I get this very slow, like a hole second from side to side wag, no matter what I do with the gain. I tryed all the possibilities from the tail drifting, to the very fast wag.

Can anyone help? The rod is very rigid, but has no suport from the servo to the tail. I love this "clean" look on the tail, but I've already boght a new set of guides as I cut them out, didn't think i would need them again, and didn't want to take the taill out.... the easy just became dificult....

I have it set up like this on my raptors, witch has much more vibration, and there is no problem with the 401.
Gutaaaooo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 04:45 AM   #49
CHOPPER PATROL
Registered Users
 
Posts: 183
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: London, Ontario
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gutaaaooo View Post
I had my 770 3d (Don't know if there is a diference from the normal do the 3D?) with a 3500 on my T450 and it held much better then my 401s, but then I wanted to get rid of those tail rod guides, so I just got them out, and epoxied a CF tube on the rod, just like Finless did on the Aurora. Now I get this very slow, like a hole second from side to side wag, no matter what I do with the gain. I tryed all the possibilities from the tail drifting, to the very fast wag.

Can anyone help? The rod is very rigid, but has no suport from the servo to the tail. I love this "clean" look on the tail, but I've already boght a new set of guides as I cut them out, didn't think i would need them again, and didn't want to take the taill out.... the easy just became dificult....

I have it set up like this on my raptors, witch has much more vibration, and there is no problem with the 401.
What type of tx are you using?
__________________
Chopper Patrol
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JR XG14, JR Forza 700, Logo 500se, Warp 360
CHOPPER PATROL is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 05:35 PM   #50
Gutaaaooo
Registered Users
 
Posts: 147
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brazil
Default

I'm using the futaba 7C, with a PCM reciver. I'm using the gyro menu in rate mode. Would this mater? I already have the 10c 2.4ghz waiting at my parent's house for when I go visit them in Pittisburgh, in the end of the month )
Gutaaaooo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 10:54 AM   #51
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,221
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Hitch in the get along folks...... Sorry for the delay but work, a broken heli, and a NEW heli have put things behind schedule.

I just got the new Compass Atom 500 and it needs a gyro! So because of this I am going to show setup of the 700 on this heli. I am going to do build vids of this heli and thus the vids for this gyro will be when I get to that point in the build.

Sorry for the delays but I really want to use this gyro on this heli! The Atom uses a full sized servo for the tail so PERFECT for it

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 07:13 PM   #52
brian94066
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,491
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Bruno California
Default

NICE!!!

hurry i can't wait
brian94066 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 07:34 PM   #53
Gutaaaooo
Registered Users
 
Posts: 147
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brazil
Default

Ops, I found the problem.... I did the chinese tail mod, and one of the screws was ground just a hair away from the needed point, so it was rubing on the screw that holds the tail together, ans that made it stif. I tought that if it would hit anything it would be the tail blades, so as it was not.... Now my 770 is holding great again.
Gutaaaooo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 07:44 AM   #54
Paul G
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Default 770 Gyro videos

Hi Bob, Thank You for all the assistance with your TREX 600 videos. I have a Futaba 9C radio and a JR 770 gyro with the 8900 servo. I am eagerly awaiting the rest of the setup video. Thanks again, Respectfully, Paul G
Paul G is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 11:15 AM   #55
neutrocuted
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: USA
Default

Thanks Bob! Great video production that answered a lot of the questions I had. Really helped this noob figure out this X9303 I just got. Just have 3 questions...
1. On the main throttle and pitch curve menus it has a setting that says "Exp" and you can select off or on. Is it necessary, after having set up my D/R & Exp in the D/R & Exp menu, to switch these to on in order for D/R & Exp to work?

2. I switched on the auto mode for the positions to follow the F-mode switch and noticed there was also a setting for "Hold" that I assume is for throttle hold. Is there a school of thought for that?

3. Are you going to do more on the X9303?

Thanks
neutrocuted is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 12:00 PM   #56
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,221
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

If you want the dual rate set in hold and thus have the same or even different piro rate in hold then yes... set that up as well and EXPO as well too. Otherwise if you go into hold only your set ATV's will be in effect.

the EXP setting in both the swash menu AND in the curves have nothing to do with dual rates. Bottom line here is if you used subtrim to 90 your servos then leave EXP off as it can cause interactions.

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 08:12 PM   #57
satl
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Default

...Nevermind, still drifting.
__________________
Trex 450SE V2: 4s EVO 1800, Neu 1107h/2y/3.2, Rhino 10T, 3080 RPM @ 80%, Jazz 40-6-18, JR G7703D/3500, 3 x HS-65MG, Radix CY 325mm
Trex 600 GF: 8s EVO 4270, Neu 1910H/1Y, Rhino 12T, 2120 RPM @ 87%, Jazz 55-10-32, JR G7703D/8900G, 3 x Futaba S9452, Radix YB-600

Never say die! ... as long as your pockets are deep enough.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by satl; 10-14-2008 at 04:49 PM..
satl is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 10:16 PM   #58
idigrc2
Registered Users
 
Posts: 47
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chico,CA
Default

I use Zeal tape for mounting, no problems so far
idigrc2 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 10:20 PM   #59
brian94066
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,491
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Bruno California
Default

the foam that JR provided with the 770 seems a little too soft for me

put one piece between the gyro and the T500 and the gyro seems to wiggle a bit, but it still stays inline with the heli

is that normal?
brian94066 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 10:27 PM   #60
satl
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by idigrc2 View Post
I use Zeal tape for mounting, no problems so far
Are you on a 400 size heli? Where did you mount it?

I had tons of trouble with my Trex 450, until I moved the gyro to a different location.

From what I understand, this gyro is less finicky on a larger size heli such as a Trex 500 or 600, etc...
__________________
Trex 450SE V2: 4s EVO 1800, Neu 1107h/2y/3.2, Rhino 10T, 3080 RPM @ 80%, Jazz 40-6-18, JR G7703D/3500, 3 x HS-65MG, Radix CY 325mm
Trex 600 GF: 8s EVO 4270, Neu 1910H/1Y, Rhino 12T, 2120 RPM @ 87%, Jazz 55-10-32, JR G7703D/8900G, 3 x Futaba S9452, Radix YB-600

Never say die! ... as long as your pockets are deep enough.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by satl; 10-11-2008 at 11:33 PM..
satl is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
101, dual rates, expo, g770, gyro, gyro setup, jr g770, video, videos




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room


Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room - Tips and how-To Videos

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com